Inventor Fusion

Reply
Contributor
frankwu
Posts: 18
Registered: ‎05-04-2012
Message 1 of 4 (468 Views)

Too many verts when importing from Inventor Fusion into Maya

468 Views, 3 Replies
09-08-2012 01:28 PM

My team uses Inventor Fusion to make levels for our Unreal iOS game that's coming out next year. And, while we love the quick output we have in making static meshes, optimizing them for Unreal is very time consuming. 

Here's one of the levels designed with Inventor fusion (file Capture.jpg).

Here's one of the levels in the middle of a retopology job. The file IF Ingress AAA.jpg is a screen capture of the IF file. It also shows the same model after being imported into Maya.

In the process of going from Nurbs to polygonal geometry, the vert count is going through the roof. It's very time consuming to repair the excess verts.

Can you guys think of any way to have more control and create fewer verts in process? Right now, the only way we know to go from IF to Maya is to do an STL export. We'd be willing to purchase something that gave us more control.

Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 2 of 4 (450 Views)

Re: Too many verts when importing from Inventor Fusion into Maya

09-10-2012 03:44 AM in reply to: frankwu

Thanks your information!

Below are some questions/actions need your support:

Are you using Inventor Fusion 2013 or Appstore build now?

What system do you use?

Could you attach your file here for us to analyze it?

 

Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
artistengineer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-03-2012
Message 3 of 4 (402 Views)

Re: Too many verts when importing from Inventor Fusion into Maya

10-03-2012 03:26 AM in reply to: Mike.Zhang

I'm using the App Store build of Inventor Fusion. What instructions should I follow to prepare my model for import into Maya? I am unable to find appropriate documentation or tutorials.

Employee
Mike.Zhang
Posts: 90
Registered: ‎08-07-2011
Message 4 of 4 (216 Views)

Re: Too many verts when importing from Inventor Fusion into Maya

05-15-2013 02:23 AM in reply to: frankwu

We've improved the behavior in the new build, you can download the new build here:

Streamers Links:

Fusion360:          http://www.appstreaming-nonprod.autodesk.com/install/app/73e72ada57b7480280f7a6f4a289729f/

 

About how to use it:

1.Create models you want to use in Fusion 360

2.Change it to component

3.RMC on the component node in Browser

4.Select Save As STL

5.Then you can change the options in the command dialog to get want you want

---It'll be better to select the Preview Mesh option.

Regards,



Mike.Zhang
SQA Engineer
Fusion 360 Quality Assurance Team
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube