Inventor Fusion

Reply
Active Contributor
jameslenane
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 1 of 23 (1,178 Views)

Inventor-fusion

1178 Views, 22 Replies
12-29-2011 09:09 AM

when im using inventor i cant click on fusion in the applications options,eventhough it says recommended,it just stays greyed out,anybody have a solution to this?Id really appreciate some feedback as posted this before but didnt get any answers so im at a loss to the reasons for this!

Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 2 of 23 (1,159 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-02-2012 12:53 PM in reply to: jameslenane

Can you confirm that Inventor Fusion 2012 is installed? Can ou run it from the shortcut in the Start -> Program group?

 

 

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Active Contributor
jameslenane
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 3 of 23 (1,152 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-03-2012 08:09 AM in reply to: jameslenane

Thanks for the reply and i can open fusion from the start menu,programs so i dont know why i cant from app options and it doesnt open as the model only as an autocad drawing?

James

Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 4 of 23 (1,131 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-05-2012 08:42 PM in reply to: jameslenane

When you open a Fusion DWF in Inventor. On the open dialog, in Inventor, select options. Select import and then open the DWG. This should launch the DWG import dialog and recognize the file as a Fusion DWG.

 

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Active Contributor
jameslenane
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 5 of 23 (1,122 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-06-2012 07:25 AM in reply to: jameslenane

Hi Kevin

Thanks for your help but i seem to be getting nowhere fast,if i open inventor I cant even find fusion files,I can only find fusion files if fusion is open,to be honest the fileing system seems to be not the easiest to work your way around and im getting so frustrated,I even uninstalled fusion last night and reinstalled it to see if it would show up in the applications menu but no joy,Im at a loss and without having somebody beside me to have a look or tell me if im doing something wrong I dont know what to do,its my studies im worried about,is there any other free form modeling programe I can run with inventor,I still think it must be something im doing wrong?

James lenane 

Active Contributor
jameslenane
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 6 of 23 (1,121 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-06-2012 07:29 AM in reply to: jameslenane

Sorry Kevin I meant to say I cant open fusion files from inventor as they dont show up anywhere even in the dialog box,the options icon stays greyed out and you cant pick it!

James lenane

Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 7 of 23 (1,115 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-06-2012 11:04 AM in reply to: jameslenane

OK. 

 

Thanks for the patience. As we try to figure out what is going wrong.

First, can we do a simple test?

 

Start Fusion and create a box and save it to your desktop.

Open Inventor, and "Import" the Fusion .dwg file into Inventor. You will have to change the open file dialog to ".dwg" or "all inventor files" file type filter. Use the options button to make sure that you import not open.

The dwg import wizard should recognize its a fusion file.

A new ipt should be created with a base feature and the solid block visible in the graphics.

Now right mouse click on the face feature and select edit solid.

(this is where things seem to be messed up)

Does Fusion launch or does the old edit solid environment open up?

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


Active Contributor
jameslenane
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 8 of 23 (1,110 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-06-2012 05:42 PM in reply to: jameslenane

kevin it didnt work,i got to the stage that you asked me too eventually but i had to do a few things a little different to get there but it wont launch fusion,i was in the old edit solid environment and it opened a box in the graphics window saying"inventor fusion technology preview provides enhanced solid edit functionality,go to http://labs.autodesk.com/utilities/fusion/for more information1 you can click ok or prompts>>

 

James

Active Contributor
jameslenane
Posts: 27
Registered: ‎08-17-2011
Message 9 of 23 (1,086 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-10-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: jameslenane

Kevin how are you?,fusion is driving me mad buddy,opened tonight to try and do some basic study work and it shut down 2 or 3 times saying the catalyst stopped working,driving me nuts,I cant learn something that keeps giving me problems as theres no continuity,my study plan has failed before it began.

James

Board Manager
schneik
Posts: 661
Registered: ‎04-05-2003
Message 10 of 23 (1,054 Views)

Re: Inventor-fusion

01-15-2012 05:16 PM in reply to: jameslenane

That is not good. Do you know if you have SP3 installed. There seems to be something very odd with this install of Fusion. Where was it installed from? From a USB key containing AutoCAD or Inventor or was it downloaded from Labs?

 

 

Kevin Schneider


15" Macbook Pro Retina - OSX 10.9 in Portland, Oregon


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube