Inventor Fusion

Reply
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2008
Message 1 of 4 (428 Views)

AutoCAD, Inventor, Inventor Fusion, or all?

428 Views, 3 Replies
02-27-2012 05:36 PM

I have been a novice AutoCAD user on subscription for many years. Inventor Fusion came with my annual renewal to AutoCAD 2012.  I wish to easily create 3D modeling of the homes I design.  Do I have the proper software?  I read that Inventor Fusion does not really work without having Inventor because they are meant to work together.  Do I need to purchase this?

 

Building a 3D in AutoCAD can be done but it is soooo cumbersome.

 

Thanks in advance for any input.

 

Paul

New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎03-08-2012
Message 2 of 4 (393 Views)

Re: AutoCAD, Inventor, Inventor Fusion, or all?

03-08-2012 02:13 PM in reply to: PauldeGroot

my suggestion is try opening fusion on your computer, it does indeed work without owning inventor and can be accessed through autocad through plugins.  you could and should probably draw your floorplan in autocad, and then extrude in autocad to any random height.  select your model, open the fusion plugin and you can do all the tweaks you could want in fusion.  I work this way a lot and I am in love with fusion.

*Expert Elite*
Posts: 25,339
Registered: ‎04-20-2006
Message 3 of 4 (376 Views)

Re: AutoCAD, Inventor, Inventor Fusion, or all?

03-12-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: PauldeGroot

Check out Kevin Schneider's Fusion classes here http://au.autodesk.com

Please mark this response as "Accept as Solution" if it answers your question.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Autodesk Inventor 2014 Certified Professional
Autodesk AutoCAD 2013 Certified Professional
Certified SolidWorks Professional
Inventor Professional 2014 Edu 64-bit
http://www.autodesk.com/edcommunity
http://home.pct.edu/~jmather/content/DSG322/inventor_surface_tutorials.htm
New Member
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-18-2008
Message 4 of 4 (369 Views)

Re: AutoCAD, Inventor, Inventor Fusion, or all?

03-12-2012 06:37 PM in reply to: jblinc3

Hi JD, Sorry I have not responded sooner (I am a Rip, as in Van W!; I am not yet sure how even posts work!).  Your comment  got me going on a new way of thinking; and the symbiosis. Switch between not only work spaces, but programs, each have their function. 

 

Currently me biggest hang up is to easily find points to snap to; I am working on it though.

 

Note: everyone at Autodesk told me it couldn't be done this way and buy; please note I am a big fan,  it's a great product.

 

Best and thanks again,

 

Paul

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you interested in helping shape the Autodesk Community?
We’re looking at a few different ways to improve the “All Forums” landing page and need your feedback! If interested, please take a few minutes to fill out the following Usability Study. Thank you for your time!

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube