Inventor Customization

Reply
Valued Mentor
meck
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎02-11-2004
Message 1 of 11 (561 Views)

VBA No More?

561 Views, 10 Replies
05-17-2010 05:24 AM
Rumor has it that Autodesk will not be including VBA will anymore Inventor releases. Can someone here please verify this for me?
Mike Eck
Senior Designer/ CAD Programmer
Howden North America
Using Inventor 2013
Distinguished Contributor
petercharles
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎09-22-2005
Message 2 of 11 (560 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-17-2010 08:00 AM in reply to: meck
Microsoft are phasing out VBA, presumably to be replaced by something based on their .NET .
ACAD no longer has VBA by default but you can download the VBA enabler so it's likely that IV will go the same way. Hopefully Autodesk will have got their act together and when they drop VBA (say in IV 2012) they will have something equivalent in it's place . There again they may not !
Valued Mentor
meck
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎02-11-2004
Message 3 of 11 (560 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-18-2010 05:47 AM in reply to: meck
I really need conformation that VBA is going to be gone. I have hundreds if not thousands of template models that have VBA code in the dimensions. If these are no longer going to work... well I'll have a lot of work ahead of me.
Could a Autodesk person please confirm?
Mike Eck
Senior Designer/ CAD Programmer
Howden North America
Using Inventor 2013
Distinguished Contributor
petercharles
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎09-22-2005
Message 4 of 11 (560 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-18-2010 10:58 AM in reply to: meck
Don't hold your breath for a definitive statement from Autodesk as they're not keen on talking about future releases. Although in this case I think they ought to, to enable VBA users to plan ahead and not drop us in it when the version is released where we need to use something other than VBA.
But hey, who are we to moan, we're only the customer.
*Sanjay Ramaswamy \(Autodesk\)
Message 5 of 11 (561 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-18-2010 10:59 AM in reply to: meck
While it is true that Microsoft no longer officially supports VBA and it is
being phased out, there are no immediate plans to drop VBA support for
Inventor. We are evaluating alternatives such as VSTA, but we don't have a
transition plan yet. Having said that, it may not be a bad idea to
familiarize yourself with VB.Net if you haven't already. It is most likely
the environment that will replace VBA in the future. The vb.net express
edition provides a good sandbox for experimenting.

Sanjay-
Valued Mentor
meck
Posts: 354
Registered: ‎02-11-2004
Message 6 of 11 (561 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-18-2010 11:10 AM in reply to: meck
Thanks for the response Sanjay!
I've had some training with VB.net, and in the limited exposure I've had they seem to be extremely similar. Here's hoping they make the transition seamless.
Mike Eck
Senior Designer/ CAD Programmer
Howden North America
Using Inventor 2013
Distinguished Contributor
petercharles
Posts: 1,101
Registered: ‎09-22-2005
Message 7 of 11 (561 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-18-2010 11:19 AM in reply to: meck
Thanks Sanjay.
Looks as if I don't need to worry about learning a 'new' language just before I retire
*Pete H
Message 8 of 11 (562 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

05-19-2010 01:08 PM in reply to: meck
Here is a link to an interesting article about Office 2010 and VBA...
http://visualbasic.about.com/b/2010/03/27/vba-forever.htm?nl=1



"meck" wrote in message news:6392355@discussion.autodesk.com...
> Rumor has it that Autodesk will not be including VBA will anymore Inventor
> releases. Can someone here please verify this for me?
Contributor
ygingras
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎03-09-2007
Message 9 of 11 (300 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

04-01-2011 12:38 PM in reply to: *Sanjay Ramaswamy \(Autodesk\)

Hi Sanjay,

 

Since this reply was posted (close to a year), is there anything new concerning the future of VBA and/or its alternative in Inventor?

 

Thanks 

Valued Mentor
Gruff
Posts: 431
Registered: ‎11-24-2003
Message 10 of 11 (288 Views)

Re: VBA No More?

04-01-2011 03:57 PM in reply to: meck

I too have been concerned about this topic.

 

I've been looking into running VB.NET forms and dialogs encapsulated in a dll library and launched from an external iLogic Rule. 

 

My current problem with that is that you cannot link an external iLogic Rule to a button unless you use VBA.

*Catch - 22*

You can of course doc the Rule browser and run them with a right mouse menu but that is too clumsy for my engineering crew.

 

Link

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Autodesk-Inventor-Customization/Create-Toolbar-buttons-for-external-iL...

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube