Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VB.NET or iLogic, which should I use? (Newbie Question)

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
JimStrenk
484 Views, 4 Replies

VB.NET or iLogic, which should I use? (Newbie Question)

Being a real newbie, I have no idea which platform to use in order to program primarily for Inventor 2011 Professional.

Is there a difference?

When should I use one over the other?

I have two programs I wish to write.

1) While writing text notes within a drawing, I'm able to insert the model weight.  It shows up as x.xx lbmass.  I wish to replace lbmass with LBS.  How do I go about doing that?

2) While writing text notes within a drawing, I'm able to insert the model material.  It show up as Steel, Mild.  I wish to change the material so that it reads STEEL, MILD or better yet, MILD STEEL.  I want the material name shown in Capital Letters.  How do I do that?

I've done a lot of reading today and still don't know how to write either program or even just start. Smiley Mad

Any help would be appreciated!

Jim Strenk

Inventor 2012 Certified Associate
AutoCAD 2012 Certified Associate

Product Design Suite Ultimate 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015,2016, 2017

Other than THAT, Mrs. Lincoln, how was the play??
4 REPLIES 4
Message 2 of 5
Mike_Maenpaa
in reply to: JimStrenk

2) You don't need any code for the material to read MILD STEEL. In your material library selet Steel, Mild, then click New and change the text to MILD STEEL and activate it.

Mike

Message 3 of 5
JimStrenk

Thanks Mike for the reply!  Quite frankly, I had already considered that idea.  And if I change descriptions on an as need basis, your suggestion works just fine.