Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Use VBA to Add Qty Req'd to Custom Properties for Components from the ****'y?

24 REPLIES 24
SOLVED
Message 1 of 25
tdswanson
2236 Views, 24 Replies

Use VBA to Add Qty Req'd to Custom Properties for Components from the ****'y?

Hello:

I'd like to create a macro that I can run from within an assembly that will loop through each BOM item and add the quantity req'd to a custom property within the component.  I'm very familiar with VBA from Office, but I'm new to it with respect to Inventor so I'm pretty fuzzy with object titles and options.  Can someone assist with the coding?

Here's an outline of what I'd like to do:

Execute Macro from within Assembly file

For Each BOM Item to # of BOM Items

If Vendor = "Make" then

Set Component Custom Property "Qty_Reqd" = Total Qty from BOM

Endif

Next BOM Item

Can someone help and/or Is there an easier way?

Thanks!!

24 REPLIES 24
Message 2 of 25
MegaJerk
in reply to: tdswanson

The below example is code that I use to look at each part in an assembly, tally up how many of each is being used, and throw that total into the Authority iProperty of each part. The only reason that I used a stock (vanilla) iProperty as the value holder is so I can more easily access it from the drawing where I need to display totals next to things like flat patterns, etc. etc.