Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Update and save assembly through ilogic in Drawing

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
vince_123
1562 Views, 4 Replies

Update and save assembly through ilogic in Drawing

Hi, 

I am new to Inventor and as a part of automating manufacturing drawings, am trying to include ilogic code in the drawing , that would accept values from the user and store it as "user parameters" and make corresponding changes in the inventor drawing file.

So, to replicate my issue on a smaller scale, i had created 2 parts and created an assembly out of these 2 parts. I used the assembly in my drawing.

In the Drawing i created a user parameter .. say "external_param". I am opening the drawing and changing the value of the user parameter through the (Fx) parameter table. 

doc = ThisDoc.Document

If external_param >= 50 And external_param <= 99 Then
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d0") = 15 'change the length of the block
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d14") = 3 'change the number of holes in the block

ElseIf external_param >= 100 And external_param <= 199 Then
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d0") = 40
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d14") = 5

ElseIf external_param >= 200 And external_param <= 299 Then
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d0") = 80
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d14") = 6

ElseIf external_param >= 300 And external_param <= 399 Then
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d0") = 160
Parameter("block_1.ipt.d14") = 9
End If

RuleParametersOutput()
iLogicVb.UpdateWhenDone = True
'InventorVb.DocumentUpdate()