Inventor Customization

Reply
Contributor
adamnikel
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Message 1 of 9 (212 Views)

Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

212 Views, 8 Replies
01-03-2012 11:43 AM

Ok i created a Ipart with like 14 different configurations now it operates smoothly within the part. Now once i insert it into a assembly it wont let me chance the configuration. I heard there was a problem like this but i thought it was only when you insert a part into a assembly and change it into a ipart while its still within a assembly. Now my part never was in a assembly. Ill upload it and let me know if you have the same issue. Once i drop the part it doesnt give me the option to choose a confguration and when i click the configuration in the itable it still doesnt change it. Now this is only within a assembly, please help i put way to much work into this to have it not work

Contributor
adamnikel
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Message 2 of 9 (207 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-03-2012 11:47 AM in reply to: adamnikel

Ignore that custom parameter colume i was playing and accidently saved it before i uploaded it. The issue was present before that

Contributor
dean.morrison
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 3 of 9 (190 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-03-2012 01:05 PM in reply to: adamnikel

Not sure what your problem is. I am able to insert your ipart into an assembly and select one of the configs.

One thing i suggest is to make one of your columns in the table a key, that way there is only 1 selection.

(if you dont set a key, it displays all values)

 

All i did was to insert the part into an assembly, in the place custom ipart dialog, on the keys tab, select member and place.

repeat process, and have different members inserted in the same assembly.

 

I have attached your file with the key added.

Also note when you upload files, roll the EOP marker up, as you can see the size difference!

Dont forget to roll it back down once you save it.

 

Hope that helps.

 

Dean.

Contributor
dean.morrison
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 4 of 9 (185 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-03-2012 01:07 PM in reply to: dean.morrison

oops i thought the size was alot smaller... oh well, good luck anyway.

Contributor
adamnikel
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Message 5 of 9 (179 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-04-2012 04:07 AM in reply to: dean.morrison

just making sure inserting a custom ipart is no different then inserting a regular part right? Assembly-Place-Then select your file right? then that dialog box should pop up?

Contributor
dean.morrison
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 6 of 9 (169 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-04-2012 01:50 PM in reply to: adamnikel

yeah thats exactly right.

 

Also forgot to mention -

if you leave the custom parameter column the ipart will generate files in your project workspace.

if you change this column it will generate files in a folder where the ipart lives.

 

 

 

 

 

Contributor
adamnikel
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Message 7 of 9 (157 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-05-2012 04:09 AM in reply to: dean.morrison

Wait this may be my issue, possibly I am pulling my ipart and its not bringing all of its indivual members with it? but when im within the ipart its self its can find its members. But when im in assembly it cant find the members just the defuat member it was last opened with. Could this be my issue? and if so how do you fix this

Contributor
adamnikel
Posts: 24
Registered: ‎12-09-2011
Message 8 of 9 (155 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-05-2012 04:14 AM in reply to: adamnikel

because this ipart has like 4 custom parameters along with some ilogic blended into it

Contributor
dean.morrison
Posts: 14
Registered: ‎07-05-2007
Message 9 of 9 (147 Views)

Re: Trouble inserting Iparts into assemblys

01-05-2012 01:27 PM in reply to: adamnikel

I have absolutely no idea why it wont work for you. It works fine for me.

 

You had set one of your table columns as a custom parameter column, i was just giving you some idea of what this does.

It still works for me whether it is set or not.

 

To give you an idea of what i am talking about, i use iparts as library parts. eg. flanges, pipes, elbows, tubes, fittings etc

 

Flanges, elbows, fittings etc do not have any columns set as custom parameters, so they generate files in a folder in their locations (in my library)

Things that have a length such as pipes, tubes sections etc have a length column set as a custom parameter,

when i insert the ipart into an assembly i get to choose from the keys i have set, and then type in a figure for my custom parameter (Length) - then i get a pipe or whatever at the length i specify. These files are generated into my project workspace, and not into my ipart library like the ones without this custom parameter.

 

I hope that clears up what i was referring to, and by no means stops anything from working, it just does it in a different way

 

I really dont understand what you are doing wrong, but like i said it works the same as all of my iparts that i use, and i have hundereds of them!

 

Good luck..

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube