Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

ReferencedDocumentDescriptor.ReferencedDocument doesn't do the trick

5 REPLIES 5
SOLVED
Message 1 of 6
Anonymous
1652 Views, 5 Replies

ReferencedDocumentDescriptor.ReferencedDocument doesn't do the trick

Since I am a novice at VB/VBA, I expect that I am doing something wrong. Just not sure what that is?

In an assembly drawing with views of the top level and sub-components, what does the DrawingView.ReferencedDocumentDescriptor.ReferencedDocument property actually refer to?

The API Help for this property provides this description: Property that returns the model document referenced by this view.

I thought that it would be the document associated with whatever view I visited in the program. Apparently that is not so.

Using the following, I visited each standard view in the drawing and displayed the model descriptor in a MsgBox.

Dim oSheet as Sheet

Dim oView as DrawingView
'For each standard view

For Each oView In oSheet.DrawingViews
    If oView.ViewType = kStandardDrawingViewType Then
        Dim RefDoc As Document
        'the following only gets the assembly for the drawing document not the view document
        Set RefDoc = oView.ReferencedDocumentDescriptor.ReferencedDocument
        MsgBox ("RefDoc = ") & RefDoc              
    End If
Next 'oView

What I found was every view posted the same result for this property. Did I miss something?

Thanks,

5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous