Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing Multidimensional Array in VB.net

5 REPLIES 5
Message 1 of 6
meck
1722 Views, 5 Replies

Passing Multidimensional Array in VB.net

Hi everyone,

I'm trying to create a .DLL to access a database from within iLogic. I'm new to VB.net so I'm having some trouble. I need to pass a multidimensional array as an argument to the DLL, but when I try to run the code I get an error that says "Number of indices exceeds the number of dimensions of the indexed array."

I've search the web for VB.net help, but all of the examples I've found are doing what I'm doing.

Any suggestions would be appreciated!

Here is my code..

The errors occur on the sData(0,i) and the sData(1,i)

I left all the database code off, because passing the array is the big issue I believe.

Public sub AddRecord(ByRef sData() As String)

For i = 0 to FieldQty

rst.Fields.Item(sData(0,i).Value = sData(1,i)

Next

End Sub

Mike Eck
Master Drafter/ CAD Programmer
Using Inventor 2018
5 REPLIES 5
Message 2 of 6
meck
in reply to: meck

I have discovered that unlike VB6 you must put a comma to indicate the number of dimensions in the array you are passing. Public sub AddRecord(ByRef sData(,) As String) Thanks for reading. Meck
Mike Eck
Master Drafter/ CAD Programmer
Using Inventor 2018
Message 3 of 6
Anonymous

a sample loop for accessing multi diemsional array

For i = 0 To strArr.GetUpperBound(0)
  For j = 0 To strArr.GetUpperBound(0)
    MsgBox(strArr(i, j))
  Next
Next

full source code

http://net-informations.com/vbprj/programflow/multi-dimensional-array.htm

antonio.

Message 4 of 6
mgorecki

Hello,