Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Link Resolve Brainstorming / Efficiency

2 REPLIES 2
SOLVED
Message 1 of 3
alyssaweaver
389 Views, 2 Replies

Link Resolve Brainstorming / Efficiency

I'm doing an open brainstorm right now of how to do this and am simply looking for a more efficient way (if there is one) to find a common suffix of a file. What I'm doing is renaming a set of files (parent project, children files, and chilren's children files), opening the new file, and resolving the links between the parts. Well, that's the basic way to explain it anyways. I'm very excited that I started learning VBA two weeks ago and am already almost done!

What I need to do to resolve the links is use the following:

Component.Replace("Old Part","New Part",False)

However, the way my files are set up are as follows:

Parent:

MyCodeWorks1.ipj

Children:

MyCodeWorks1-001.iam

MyCodeWorks1-002.iam

Children of Children:

MyCodeWorks1-003.ipt

MyCodeWorks1-004.ipt

MyCodeWorks1-005.ipt

MyCodeWorks1-006.ipt

etc.

I then rename my parent file to, say, "Yay32.ipj". All prefixes "MyCodeWorks" then change to prefix "Yay32". To fit the format for the replace component procedure, I need to grab the suffixes "001","002","003",etc.

I have two ideas so far and would love more input. I'm new to VBA and really don't know the most efficient way to do things yet. I'm posting my ideas below! Does anyone have a better or more efficient idea? This is more theoretical; I wouldn't need the actual code, just an idea!