Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is creating iLogic "Components " possible from the API?

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
Anonymous
293 Views, 2 Replies

Is creating iLogic "Components " possible from the API?

Hey guys,

I'm new to inventor and I need to be able to create coppies of a part in my assembly that are uniquely identified so they can be individually changed. I see that this can be done through the ribbon with the "Place iLogic Component" button, but is it possible to do this from the API in a rule?

I am using inventor 2012 pro.

Thanks

2 REPLIES 2
Message 2 of 3
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

I found that its possible with this code:

' set a reference to the assembly component definintion.' This assumes an assembly document is open.Dim oAsmCompDef As AssemblyComponentDefinition
oAsmCompDef = ThisApplication.ActiveDocument.ComponentDefinition

' Set a reference to the transient geometry object.Dim oTG As TransientGeometry
oTG = ThisApplication.TransientGeometry

' Create a matrix.  Dim oMatrix As Matrix
oMatrix = oTG.CreateMatrix

'Iterate through all of the occurrencesDim oOccurrence As ComponentOccurrence

'place an instance of the component 'in this case at 0,0,0oOccurrence = oAsmCompDef.Occurrences.Add(oPath & oFile, oMatrix) 

' Set the translation portion of the matrix so the part will be 'positioned at the co-ordinatesoMatrix.SetTranslation(oTG.CreateVector(0, 0, 0)) 
'ground it in placeoOccurrence.Grounded = True

But, for some reason, my model only appears at coordinates 0,0,0 even if i change it to something else. Could it be that the TransientGeometry is not being used correctly in my case? 

Message 3 of 3