Inventor Customization

Reply
Member
rgajewski
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎02-21-2007
Message 1 of 5 (171 Views)

Ilogic- run program 2 times

171 Views, 4 Replies
02-05-2013 11:35 AM

I'm having an issue where when I run my RULES the model updates 99% of the assembly components.  The 1% will update if I run the RULE again with the same inputs.  What am I missing?

ADN Support Specialist
adam.nagy
Posts: 521
Registered: ‎03-26-2007
Message 2 of 5 (151 Views)

Re: Ilogic- run program 2 times

02-08-2013 10:44 AM in reply to: rgajewski

Hi there,

 

Sounds like there may be some interdependency between the operations you are doing, so some of them do not succeed for the first time around, but when certain things got updated, then the remaining 1% can get updated too?

 

Not sure if it makes sense in your case. Does it only happen to a certain assembly?
If you do similar update through the user interface, then all is fine?

 

Cheers, 



Adam Nagy
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network
Distinguished Contributor
danvang
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 3 of 5 (132 Views)

Re: Ilogic- run program 2 times

03-08-2013 08:19 AM in reply to: rgajewski

If I remember correctly I run into this sometimes when I am calculating a parameter in a rule and that parameter is used in a later rule. The later rule still uses the old parameter value therefore the parts doesn't update properly. To correct this I have to use RuleParametersOutput() and InventorVb.DocumentUpdate() at the end of the first rule. This way the later rule is using the new value. Not sure if this is what's happening in your case but just wanted to throw that out there.

Dan

ADN Support Specialist
xiaodong.liang
Posts: 1,233
Registered: ‎06-12-2011
Message 4 of 5 (111 Views)

Re: Ilogic- run program 2 times

03-17-2013 08:15 PM in reply to: danvang

Hi danvang,

 

Could you try to isolate to provide a test demo? It is hard to diagnose with the description only. Thank you.



Xiaodong Liang
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network

Distinguished Contributor
danvang
Posts: 110
Registered: ‎02-28-2008
Message 5 of 5 (104 Views)

Re: Ilogic- run program 2 times

03-18-2013 08:27 AM in reply to: rgajewski

Here are two examples that I quickly came up with. I found different ways to make the code work but when you are initially writing it, you are expecting it to work a certain way and it doesn't. Hope these examples help.

 

Dan

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube