Inventor Customization

Reply
Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 1 of 3 (166 Views)
Accepted Solution

Forms? I think....

166 Views, 2 Replies
12-13-2012 11:57 AM

I have an assembly of a frame that is enclosed by sheet metal components. I created a skeletal part and used frame generator to create the frame. I am in the process of linking all the parameters required to adjust the frame and all sheet metal components based on changes to the skeletal part file. There is 5 dimensions that will produce the assembly in any size we want. I was at an inventor conference and had a glimpse of a "form" i think it was called. It is a box with various inputs and once those inputs are entered in the form updates the assembly file to match.

 

I am not 100% sure if this is correct or not, but does anybody kind of know what I am talking about?

 

Basically what I want it a dialog box with 5 input boxes that will change 5 parameters in my skeletal model and then update the assembly file to match.?!

 

Thanks for any advice or direction.

 

I have attached my skeletal model part file for those interested.

Also an image of the assembly - it is much too large to attach

 

The 5 parameters that i want to change are

  • overall_length
  • overall_width
  • center_divider
  • fork_pocket_centers
  • overall_height ( not really viewable, just been adjusting the workplane dimension)

 

Thanks

 

Sean

 

Inventor Pro 2013

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49
*Expert Elite*
Curtis_Waguespack
Posts: 2,773
Registered: ‎03-08-2006
Message 2 of 3 (161 Views)

Re: Forms? I think....

12-13-2012 12:35 PM in reply to: SeanFarr

Hi SeanFarr,

 

I'm making the assumption that this is an iLogic question (rather than VB.net, etc.), if so then here are some links to check out.

 

I hope this helps.
Best of luck to you in all of your Inventor pursuits,
Curtis
http://inventortrenches.blogspot.com

 

More reading on this:

iLogic Rules and Forms

 

 



  solution.png  Did you find this reply helpful ? If so please use the Accept as Solution or  Kudos button below.





Valued Mentor
SeanFarr
Posts: 475
Registered: ‎07-25-2012
Message 3 of 3 (154 Views)

Re: Forms? I think....

12-13-2012 03:27 PM in reply to: Curtis_Waguespack

Yup, I checked out some of the videos, looks like what I am looking for...not 100% sure if I will be able to make a form, but I will play around with it and look through the tutorials.

 

I will post back if I run into any issues.

 

Thanks

Sean Farr
Product Designer at TESInc.ca

Inventor Professional 2014-Update 2 - AutoCAD Electrical 2014
Win7-x64 | ASUS P8Z77-V | i7 3770 -3.4 GHz | 32GB RAM |
240GB SSD | nVidia GTX 670 4GB - 320.49

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube