Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Apply different changes to select parts in an assembly

2 REPLIES 2
Message 1 of 3
earlgreyspartan
306 Views, 2 Replies

Apply different changes to select parts in an assembly

I'm VERY new to ilogic so I'm on a steep learning curve right now. I'm hoping the answer to this is something easy!

I have an Excel file that generates parameters that drives the geometry of parts called "Hook-(thickness)-V0.ipt" and "Straight-(thickness)-V0.ipt"

I currently have a rule (which I didn't originally write, just edited) in each of the part files that changes the PART NUMBER based on the parameter the spreadsheet gives it for thickness (HLt or SLt). The FILE NAME of the original does not change, but a new part is created with the FILE NAME and PART NUMBER being the new values.

InventorVb.DocumentUpdate()
newname = ThisDoc.FileName(False)
posx = InStr (newname, "(")
If posx >0 Then newname = Left(newname,posx-1)
Parameter.Quiet = True
iProperties.Value("Project", "Part Number") = newname & Parameter("SLt") & "-V0"
'MsgBox("Current Part Number = " & iProperties.Value("Project", "Part Number"))FileToSave = ThisDoc.Path & "\" & iProperties.Value("Project", "Part Number") & ".ipt"
If IO.File.Exists(FileToSave) Then
'MsgBox("Member already exists")Else
MsgBox("New part file being created : " & FileToSave)
ThisDoc.Document.SaveAs(FileToSave , True)
End If

For example: