Community
Inventor Programming - iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice
Inventor iLogic, Macros, AddIns & Apprentice Forum. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Inventor topics related to programming, creating add-ins, macros, working with the API or creating iLogic tools.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Add-in

4 REPLIES 4
Message 1 of 5
melanie2012
1767 Views, 4 Replies

Add-in

I am new to the Visual Basic.Net circuit.  I have worked with VBA in Access and Inventor and Inventor's ilogic in the past.  I have ilogic code that opens .dwgs for all compontents - assemblies, parts, anything that does not have "skel" in the name.  A second piece of code then saves all the parts, prints the .pdfs of the drawings and closes all referenced files.  It workes great, but my manager asked me to create an add-in for this.  So, over the course of the last two weeks I have did multiple tutorials learning to program in VB.Net.  I was went through the plug-in tutorials present on one of the posts.  I successfully got a plug-in to work.

My next step was to try to get an add-in working correctly.  I have hit some snags though.  I found the "Inventor Add-in" for VBA and installed it on my computer.  I am using VB 2010 Express, so I had to go through the alternate steps.  After doing a build I have a .dll file, but no Add-in Definition File and no Manifest file either.  How do I get this set up so it will installed corrrectly on the ribbon?  The file types created in the bin folder were XML Document - No Name.  A .dll with the project name, .pdb with the project name and .tlb with the project name.

How to Register/Unregister
 =======================

1) Build Project;

2) Copy add-in dll file to one of following locations:
  a) Anywhere, then *.addin file <Assembly> setting should be updated to the full path including the dll name