Inventor Customization

Reply
Active Contributor
ewcler
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 1 of 7 (407 Views)

Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 express

407 Views, 6 Replies
07-15-2010 02:20 PM

I followed the instructions in Brian Ekins' instructions.  http://modthemachine.typepad.com/files/VBAtoAddIn.pdf

It all worked well until I tried looking for the add-in in Inventor.

 

Page 6:

"Congratulations, you’ve just created an Add-In. Click the Build AUAddIn command (or the name or your Add-In) in the Build menu. Once it’s finished building, start Inventor and look in the Add-In Manager where you should see your Add-In in the list."  

 

I am running Windows XP64.  Let me know what you think!

 

Ed
Paul's Machine & Welding Corp.
Dell Precision T3600- Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro 4000 Windows 7
ADN Support Specialist
ekinsb
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 2 of 7 (405 Views)

Re: Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 exp

07-15-2010 06:03 PM in reply to: ewcler

The problem is that you're running on a 64-bit system.  Visual Studio is registering the add-in as a 32-bit add-in so Inventor isn't finding it.  I need to do a bit of research to see how/if you can tell visual studio to register it for 64-bit.  It's easy to register it yourself from the command window for 64-bit.  Here's the line to register a 32-bit add-in.

 

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\RegAsm.exe /codebase AddInName.dll

 

and here's the line to register a 64-bit add-in.

 

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\RegAsm.exe /codebase AddInName.dll

 

The difference being that the RegAsm for the 64-bit version is in the Framework64 directory.  If you manually register your add-in, my guess is that it will now show up in the add-in manager.



Brian Ekins
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
ewcler
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 3 of 7 (395 Views)

Re: Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 exp

07-16-2010 07:07 AM in reply to: ekinsb

Thanks Brian, 

I tried registering the Add-In manually

 

I went to Start > Run, and entered the following line:

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Re gAsm.exe /codebase AUAddIn.dll

 

As you suspected, the addin did not show up in the Inventor Add-In list.  

Ed
Paul's Machine & Welding Corp.
Dell Precision T3600- Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro 4000 Windows 7
ADN Support Specialist
ekinsb
Posts: 300
Registered: ‎07-21-2006
Message 4 of 7 (389 Views)

Re: Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 exp

07-16-2010 10:21 AM in reply to: ewcler

ewcler wrote:

Thanks Brian, 

I tried registering the Add-In manually

 

I went to Start > Run, and entered the following line:

C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework64\v2.0.50727\Re gAsm.exe /codebase AUAddIn.dll

 

As you suspected, the addin did not show up in the Inventor Add-In list.  


Did you mean to say that it "did show up" rather than "did not show up"?



Brian Ekins
Developer Technical Services
Autodesk Developer Network
Autodesk, Inc.
Active Contributor
ewcler
Posts: 37
Registered: ‎05-12-2006
Message 5 of 7 (385 Views)

Re: Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 exp

07-16-2010 11:42 AM in reply to: ekinsb

It did not show up in the add in manager.  I attached a screen shot for reference.  I see how my response was confusing.  

Ed
Paul's Machine & Welding Corp.
Dell Precision T3600- Xeon E5-1620 @ 3.6 GHz 32GB Ram - Nvidia Quadro 4000 Windows 7
Member
Fzigunov
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 6 of 7 (275 Views)

Re: Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 exp

12-20-2010 04:42 PM in reply to: ewcler

I'm sorry to revive this topic, but I'm having the same issue. Can't figure out how to make inventor recognize my add-in.

 

Using Inventor 2010, VB.Net 2008 and Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bits.

 

Already tried registering with Regasm.exe in /Framework64/ but it didn't work.

 

Thanks in advance!

 

Fernando,

"Cooling & Freezing"  Carton Freezers and Industrial Refrigeration

 

Member
Fzigunov
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-20-2010
Message 7 of 7 (273 Views)

Re: Add In NOOB. Trying to get an add-in to show up using Visual basic 2008 exp

12-20-2010 04:53 PM in reply to: Fzigunov

Duh, figured it out =)

 

**** newbie error!

 

It is in fact very easy, just don't forget to include full path name when registering.

 

RegAsm.exe \codebase "C:\Program Files\xxxx\YourAddIn.dll"

 

 

OK, I'm very sorry to have revived this topic and a few minutes later, discovering by myself the solution, but it seems to me that asking the question by itself makes my brain work better and find the answer easier.

 

Thanks anyway, you may delete my posts if you like.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Inventor Exchange Apps

Created by the community for the community, Autodesk Exchange Apps for Autodesk Inventor helps you achieve greater speed, accuracy, and automation from concept to manufacturing.

Connect with Inventor

Twitter

Facebook

Blogs

Pinterest

Youtube