Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
jshipley
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-01-2006
Message 1 of 5 (347 Views)
Accepted Solution

where to start - 2012 to 2014 license upgrade?

347 Views, 4 Replies
07-01-2013 11:44 AM

Here is where we are:  We are on AutoCAD / Inventor 2012 for all users.  We just recieved our 2014 software and want to start using it with a test user.  I am confused as to what version of FlexNet to use and where to get that.  I am having a very hard time finding this info.  Currently we are running LMTOOLS v11.9 on a Windows Server 2008 R2 server for all our AutoCAD / Inventor 2012 users.

 

Do we need to upgrade the LMTOOLS?  I have heard that we need 11.11 for version 2014.  What then happens to the 11.9 version?  Do I delete that?  Will the 2012 users continue to work?

 

Thanks

Jim

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,200
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 5 (342 Views)

Re: where to start - 2012 to 2014 license upgrade?

07-01-2013 11:49 AM in reply to: jshipley

 

Do we need to upgrade the LMTOOLS? no you don't need to upgrade flex lm but i always do

What then happens to the 11.9 version? as far as what?

Will the 2012 users continue to work? yes they will

the latest version of flex lm is on the 2014 media or you can download the files here:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=18610121&linkID=9240857&CMP=OTC-RSS...

 

Active Contributor
jshipley
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-01-2006
Message 3 of 5 (336 Views)

Re: where to start - 2012 to 2014 license upgrade?

07-01-2013 11:54 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Thanks - do I choose ipv4 or ipv6?  And the link to ipv4 does not work.

 

 

Active Contributor
jshipley
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎11-01-2006
Message 4 of 5 (329 Views)

Re: where to start - 2012 to 2014 license upgrade?

07-01-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: jshipley

Also - when I attempt to install the newer version of license manager utility, it says there is another version already installed and to uninstall it.  But there are users using it.  Is it safe to do this during production time?  Do I need to wait for no users running ACAD?  And what if the new version does not work?  How do I install the older version back?

 

Thanks

Mentor
jtbworld
Posts: 181
Registered: ‎08-03-2007
Message 5 of 5 (312 Views)

Re: where to start - 2012 to 2014 license upgrade?

07-01-2013 04:45 PM in reply to: jshipley

Yes, you need to uninstall the old version first. If you do it within a few minutes users having licenses checked out will not notice anything (I've done that several times) but if something fails you might be in trouble. Best is to do it when few users have licenses checked out. If you need to install the old version you can get that from the old media. Or you can just take a backup of the folder with the FlexNet files before uninstalling.

Jimmy Bergmark
JTB World - Software development and consulting
Specialities: AutoCAD, AutoCAD Architecture and Revit
http://www.jtbworld.com

JTB FlexReport - network license reports
http://www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport/index.htm

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube