Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
sbenda60
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
Message 1 of 35 (36,291 Views)
Accepted Solution

softlock license manger error message

36291 Views, 34 Replies
04-25-2011 05:00 PM

I have installed the 2012 upgrade. When I open the program I get the following error:

 

The security system (softlock license manager) is not functuining or is improperly installed.

 

The program then shuts down. Any ideas?

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 2 of 35 (36,258 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

04-27-2011 07:21 AM in reply to: sbenda60

Is this Autocad 2012 ?

please try a clean installation of Autocad as admin

http://usa.autodesk.com/getdoc/id=TS75218

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
sbenda60
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎12-03-2010
Message 3 of 35 (36,265 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

04-27-2011 08:04 AM in reply to: sbenda60

I brought this to Autodesk tech. support. I have had issues with running 2011 Autodesk products. One day all was working fine. The next morning none of my autocad programs would run. After many hours of trying different suggetions from tech support we were about ready to re-format the hard drive and start new. When the 2012 update became available we figured one last try before the re-format. This is when the softlock error poped up. I recieved the following message from Autodesk in response to the softlock issue:

 

"Softlock License Manager Errors were usually seen with the older version of AutoCAD products (releases older than 2008) and the typical cause of the error was restricted permissions on licensing folder or some corruption with the license file.

The standalone license file location on Windows 7 is C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet and standalone license file name is similar to adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data and adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data_backup.001.  These files are encrypted files and basically keep activation information.  Please try giving Everyone full control permissions to the folder and move adskflex data files you find there to another folder (e.g. Desktop) and let me know if this helps."

 

By doing this all of my Autocad programs work, even the 2011 products which started this process. After all the things we tried it seems it was a permission's problem. I have had many permission issues since installing Windows 7.

 

Glad this one is behind us.

Product Support
hashim.mundol
Posts: 1,459
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Message 4 of 35 (36,252 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

04-27-2011 08:07 AM in reply to: sbenda60

thank you for sharing the solution with the community :smileyhappy:

 

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If my post answers your question, please mark it as an Accepted Solution, so that others can find answers quickly!
For more tips & tricks: http://upandready.typepad.com



Hashim Mundol
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Alumni
Jessup
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-11-2009
Message 5 of 35 (36,067 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

05-16-2011 07:58 AM in reply to: sbenda60

Thank you for posting that solution to the forums; it is the only one I have found for this error message in the 2012 products.

Here are the paths for those files in Windows XP and Windows Vista, as well:


On Vista or Windows 7:

C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data

C:\ProgramData\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data.backup 


On Windows XP:

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\FLEXnet\adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data.backup

 

Best regards,

Jessup H.
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
New Member
john
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-01-2011
Message 6 of 35 (35,681 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

07-01-2011 12:14 AM in reply to: Jessup

Having similar issues on XP but can't find "Application Data" folder with .data file in location specified.  Where else could it be?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,023
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 35 (35,670 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

07-01-2011 08:45 AM in reply to: john

It's a hidden folder.  You can either turn hidden folders and files on within your explorer properties or you can put the path directly into your address bar and get there.

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Contributor
leaveAlone
Posts: 38
Registered: ‎02-25-2011
Message 8 of 35 (35,088 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

08-21-2011 05:49 PM in reply to: Jessup

I am having this problem as well, however, I do not know how to give everyone full rights to these files on XP. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Contributor
jeff5509
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 9 of 35 (34,669 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

09-19-2011 08:25 AM in reply to: sbenda60

I am experiencing the same problem with my autocad electrical installation. I am running XP SP3 and have ACE2011 and ACE2012. Neither will load and ACE2011 shows no error. The splash screen pops up and then goes away and nothing. ACE2012 at least lets me know that the softlock license manager is not functioning.

 

I tried the fix suggested in the tread with no luck. Any other ideas or suggestions?

 

Jeff

Contributor
jeff5509
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎06-23-2011
Message 10 of 35 (34,631 Views)

Re: softlock license manger error message

09-20-2011 10:08 AM in reply to: sbenda60

So... if this solution doesn't fix the problem then what else could it be? I have found a few other references to other fixs for this problem but nothing is working. I have a stand alone license and can't get any work done. :smileysad:

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube