Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 8
crs43
3249 Views, 7 Replies

ribbon too large?

I am new to AutoCAD and have just installed the 2014 Student edition for Windows. When I open the application the ribbon at the top appears to be too large, obscuring some of the menus. (see attachment entitled: CAD interface.jpg). Is there something wrong with the interface or is there a setting nested somewhere that will correct the problem? Thank you.

Tags (1)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
pendean
in reply to: crs43

Your program window in not maximized, otherwise looks about average: what's your screen size and Windows Display Resolution?
Message 3 of 8
crs43
in reply to: pendean

Hello Pendean,
The screen size is 27-inch (diagonal) manufacturer recommended resolution: 2560 x 1440. The  resolution control panel defaulted to 5120 x 2880. When I change it to 2569 x 1440, the visual scale becomes too large and the ribbon issue in AutoCAD still persists, with some of the menues being obscured or partially obscured. See attached: (CAD interface_2569x1440.jpg) Any thoughts? Thank you.

Sincerely,

Chris

Tags (1)
Message 4 of 8
dgorsman

Everything looks right (bear with me!) except for the font size.  Making fonts bigger won't always cause UI (user interface) elements to resize to accomodate the larger sizes, especially if there are lots of icons involved.

Try changing to a smaller default font size in Windows and/or AutoCAD.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
"I don't know" is the beginning of knowledge, not the end.

Message 5 of 8
crs43
in reply to: dgorsman

Hi Dgorsman,

Changing font size in Windows 7 had no effect. How do I change font size in AutoCAD? Thank you.