Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-26-2007
Message 1 of 4 (368 Views)

registry

368 Views, 3 Replies
07-30-2008 02:33 AM
A client of us has a policy enforced that sets the following value in the registry of their computers:
reigstry location:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FLEXlm License Manager

here they modify the following key: ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE here they fill in the following: @servername;

The effect is that you do not have to use a licpath.lic file and you can more easily change license servers.
All the autocad versions (map & civil en plain autocad) work fine with this except Revit. They can't seem to be abe to deal without the licpath.lic file.

has anyone some idea's what to do about this?

thanks
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 2 of 4 (368 Views)

Re: registry

07-30-2008 07:27 AM in reply to: xiqx
A workaround might be to use LM_LICENSE_FILE system variable instead.

--
Jimmy Bergmark - Owner/Developer
JTB World - Software development and consulting
Website: http://www.jtbworld.com
Blog: http://blog.jtbworld.com

JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm license report tool) -
www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport




"xiqx" wrote in message news:5993862@discussion.autodesk.com...
> A client of us has a policy enforced that sets the following value in the
> registry of their computers:
> reigstry location:
> HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\FLEXlm License Manager
>
> here they modify the following key: ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE here they fill
> in the following: @servername;
>
> The effect is that you do not have to use a licpath.lic file and you can
> more easily change license servers.
> All the autocad versions (map & civil en plain autocad) work fine with
> this except Revit. They can't seem to be abe to deal without the
> licpath.lic file.
>
> has anyone some idea's what to do about this?
>
> thanks
Active Contributor
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎01-26-2007
Message 3 of 4 (368 Views)

Re: registry

07-31-2008 05:10 AM in reply to: xiqx
do you mean you would set lmtools to use configuration using license file instead of service?

could you elaborate on it?

thanks
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 4 of 4 (368 Views)

Re: registry

07-31-2008 10:58 AM in reply to: xiqx
Instead of using ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE you could use LM_LICENSE_FILE on the
clients to point to the license server as I understood that was a problem
you had with Revit not accepting ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE but it might accept
LM_LICENSE_FILE.

--
Jimmy Bergmark - Owner/Developer
JTB World - Software development and consulting
Website: http://www.jtbworld.com
Blog: http://blog.jtbworld.com

JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm license report tool) -
www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport

AutoCAD 2009
http://www.jtbworld.com/autocad2009.htm

"xiqx" wrote in message news:5995076@discussion.autodesk.com...
> do you mean you would set lmtools to use configuration using license file
> instead of service?
>
> could you elaborate on it?
>
> thanks

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube