Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
rumcaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2006
Message 1 of 7 (14,507 Views)

lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

14507 Views, 6 Replies
07-16-2006 07:15 AM
Hallo there, i am administrator and AutoCAD user for about 10 years.
I solved lot of problems with my different LM servers before, but this one, as it seems easy anyway, i can not solve this time.
i have a new LM server (because one of my 2 old ones is "broken" :smileyhappy: and the second one i had to change to standard user machine). i did install it and configure services as usualy (as i did many times before), started server - and sh*t happens.
All i got is server status log in LMTools:
License server status: @OV4XLEKTOR
License file(s) on OV4XLEKTOR: C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2007\LICPATH.LIC #this is new server# ;@JANECNTB;E:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2005 CZ;@JANECEK: #theese are old servers#

lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system.
The license server manager (lmgrd) has not been started yet,
the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the
port or hostname in the license file has been changed.
Server name: OV4XLEKTOR
License path: 27000@OV4XLEKTOR
FLEXnet Licensing error:-15,570
For further information, refer to the FLEXnet Licensing End User Guide,
available at "www.macrovision.com".

computers @janecek and @janecntb does not exist any more in my network, but i understand it could be listed in some old product licpath on this machine

as i open log file i got this:
15:22:32 (lmgrd) -----------------------------------------------
15:22:32 (lmgrd) Please Note:
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd) This log is intended for debug purposes only.
15:22:32 (lmgrd) In order to capture accurate license
15:22:32 (lmgrd) usage data into an organized repository,
15:22:32 (lmgrd) please enable report logging. Use Macrovision's
15:22:32 (lmgrd) software license administration solution,
15:22:32 (lmgrd) FLEXnet Manager, to readily gain visibility
15:22:32 (lmgrd) into license usage data and to create
15:22:32 (lmgrd) insightful reports on critical information like
15:22:32 (lmgrd) license availability and usage. FLEXnet Manager
15:22:32 (lmgrd) can be fully automated to run these reports on
15:22:32 (lmgrd) schedule and can be used to track license
15:22:32 (lmgrd) servers and usage across a heterogeneous
15:22:32 (lmgrd) network of servers including Windows NT, Linux
15:22:32 (lmgrd) and UNIX. Contact Macrovision at
15:22:32 (lmgrd) www.macrovision.com for more details on how to
15:22:32 (lmgrd) obtain an evaluation copy of FLEXnet Manager
15:22:32 (lmgrd) for your enterprise.
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd) -----------------------------------------------
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd) pid 2860
15:22:32 (lmgrd) Can't open E:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Data aplikací\Macrovision\FLEXlm\lmgrdl.B2C, errno: 3
15:22:32 (lmgrd) Detecting other license server manager (lmgrd) processes...
15:22:32 (lmgrd) adskflex already running 27000@OV4XLEKTOR
15:22:32 (lmgrd) The license server manager (lmgrd) is already serving all vendors, exiting.

all i can do is to run AutoCAD 2007 on server - it uses licence and it works (even as i can not see active licences in lmtools - Perform status enquiry dialogue box!)
but clients of course got no licence and thats why they can not run it
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 2 of 7 (14,507 Views)

Re: lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

07-17-2006 03:31 AM in reply to: rumcaiz
This path seems a bit strange:
E:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Data aplikací\Macrovision\FLEXlm\lmgrdl
Where do you actually have lmgrdl located?
What version of FLEXnet do you have installed?

--
Best Regards, Jimmy Bergmark
Owner/Developer - JTB World - Software development and Consulting
Blog: http://jtbworld.blogspot.com
JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm report tool) -
http://www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport
SmartPurger (Purges automatically) - http://www.jtbworld.com/smartpurger.htm
or download some freeware at http://www.jtbworld.com
More on AutoCAD 2006 and 2007
http://www.jtbworld.com/autocad2006.htm
http://www.jtbworld.com/autocad2007.htm


wrote in message news:5238445@discussion.autodesk.com...
Hallo there, i am administrator and AutoCAD user for about 10 years.
I solved lot of problems with my different LM servers before, but this one,
as it seems easy anyway, i can not solve this time.
i have a new LM server (because one of my 2 old ones is "broken" :smileyhappy: and the
second one i had to change to standard user machine). i did install it and
configure services as usualy (as i did many times before), started server -
and sh*t happens.
All i got is server status log in LMTools:
License server status: @OV4XLEKTOR
License file(s) on OV4XLEKTOR: C:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2007\LICPATH.LIC
#this is new server# ;@JANECNTB;E:\Program Files\AutoCAD 2005 CZ;@JANECEK:
#theese are old servers#

lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system.
The license server manager (lmgrd) has not been started yet,
the wrong port@host or license file is being used, or the
port or hostname in the license file has been changed.
Server name: OV4XLEKTOR
License path: 27000@OV4XLEKTOR
FLEXnet Licensing error:-15,570
For further information, refer to the FLEXnet Licensing End User Guide,
available at "www.macrovision.com".

computers @janecek and @janecntb does not exist any more in my network, but
i understand it could be listed in some old product licpath on this machine

as i open log file i got this:
15:22:32 (lmgrd) -----------------------------------------------
15:22:32 (lmgrd) Please Note:
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd) This log is intended for debug purposes only.
15:22:32 (lmgrd) In order to capture accurate license
15:22:32 (lmgrd) usage data into an organized repository,
15:22:32 (lmgrd) please enable report logging. Use Macrovision's
15:22:32 (lmgrd) software license administration solution,
15:22:32 (lmgrd) FLEXnet Manager, to readily gain visibility
15:22:32 (lmgrd) into license usage data and to create
15:22:32 (lmgrd) insightful reports on critical information like
15:22:32 (lmgrd) license availability and usage. FLEXnet Manager
15:22:32 (lmgrd) can be fully automated to run these reports on
15:22:32 (lmgrd) schedule and can be used to track license
15:22:32 (lmgrd) servers and usage across a heterogeneous
15:22:32 (lmgrd) network of servers including Windows NT, Linux
15:22:32 (lmgrd) and UNIX. Contact Macrovision at
15:22:32 (lmgrd) www.macrovision.com for more details on how to
15:22:32 (lmgrd) obtain an evaluation copy of FLEXnet Manager
15:22:32 (lmgrd) for your enterprise.
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd) -----------------------------------------------
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd)
15:22:32 (lmgrd) pid 2860
15:22:32 (lmgrd) Can't open E:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Data
aplikací\Macrovision\FLEXlm\lmgrdl.B2C, errno: 3
15:22:32 (lmgrd) Detecting other license server manager (lmgrd) processes...
15:22:32 (lmgrd) adskflex already running 27000@OV4XLEKTOR
15:22:32 (lmgrd) The license server manager (lmgrd) is already serving all
vendors, exiting.

all i can do is to run AutoCAD 2007 on server - it uses licence and it works
(even as i can not see active licences in lmtools - Perform status enquiry
dialogue box!)
but clients of course got no licence and thats why they can not run it
Member
rumcaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2006
Message 3 of 7 (14,507 Views)

Re: lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

07-17-2006 05:36 AM in reply to: rumcaiz
i tried several times to install if, the last log i wrote was just a try. normally it was installed at c:/program files/autodesk network license manager folder
on this machine the service never starts, does not matter where it is installed. it does not find the license file (which is sure correctly added to service setting in lmtools) eather.
i feel i will try to change the machine, install the service there, ask for new license file and try it again
*Jimmy Bergmark
Message 4 of 7 (14,507 Views)

Re: lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

07-17-2006 06:57 AM in reply to: rumcaiz
How about this KB:
http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/item?siteID=123112&id=5913679&linkID=2475323

--
Best Regards, Jimmy Bergmark
Owner/Developer - JTB World - Software development and Consulting
Blog: http://jtbworld.blogspot.com
JTB FlexReport (FLEXnet / FLEXlm report tool) -
http://www.jtbworld.com/jtbflexreport
SmartPurger (Purges automatically) - http://www.jtbworld.com/smartpurger.htm
or download some freeware at http://www.jtbworld.com
More on AutoCAD 2006 and 2007
http://www.jtbworld.com/autocad2006.htm
http://www.jtbworld.com/autocad2007.htm


wrote in message news:5238720@discussion.autodesk.com...
i tried several times to install if, the last log i wrote was just a try.
normally it was installed at c:/program files/autodesk network license
manager folder
on this machine the service never starts, does not matter where it is
installed. it does not find the license file (which is sure correctly added
to service setting in lmtools) eather.
i feel i will try to change the machine, install the service there, ask for
new license file and try it again
Member
rumcaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2006
Message 5 of 7 (14,507 Views)

Re: lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

07-18-2006 01:36 AM in reply to: rumcaiz
thank you Jimmy,
all the things listed i tried already. lmgrd is death. service is configured, but does not run, and the system is ignoring my license file listed in the service
Member
rumcaiz
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-16-2006
Message 6 of 7 (14,507 Views)

Re: lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

07-18-2006 03:42 AM in reply to: rumcaiz
I DID IT. It works now. Service is running, reading ccorrect license file as selected Config service dialogue.
Only thing i had to do all the time was to check box LMTOOL ignores license file path environment variables on Service/License file tab of LMTOOLS. See pic.
New Member
lineyoumi
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-07-2006
Message 7 of 7 (14,507 Views)

Re: lmgrd is not running: Cannot connect to license server system

11-07-2006 01:02 AM in reply to: rumcaiz
I meet the same trouble with you.
I tried several times, it was the same errors as usual.
Would you tell me how to do it?
Thank you very much!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube