Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
mixminus
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 1 of 8 (3,090 Views)
Accepted Solution

language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

3090 Views, 7 Replies
09-21-2010 01:25 PM

Hello,

My apologies if a support request like this has already been issued on this forum somewhere. I couldn't find anything like it here.....

 

 

I am attempting to install AutoCAD LT 2011 on Windows 7 running as a Parallels virtual machine within Apple OS X.

 

When I run the install wizard, the option to install AutoCAD LT 2011 is not available. In the subtext explanation, the reason "This product or its prerequisites do not support currently selected language" is given. No matter which language I select in the drop-down, the result is the same.

 

Please see below for an image of the issue.

690i9212FAC94A0EDB20

 

 

I have verified that my operating system and hardware configuration meets the minimum requirements for an AutoCAD installation and I have successfully installed Design review as well as DWG TrueView with no problems (I installed them all as English).  They run fine.

 

I have been looking but can't find any  documentation with regard to prerequisite needs for AutoCAD LT other than the system requirements. Does anyone have any idea why this software can't be installed on my system or what the subtext error means?

 

Thank you,


-Josh

Alumni
Posts: 642
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Message 2 of 8 (3,063 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-22-2010 11:53 AM in reply to: mixminus

Uninstall Design Review then try again. The AutoCAD LT installer requires that Design Review be installed along with it and it is detecting that an older release of Design Review is already installed.



Douglas Lauritsen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
mixminus
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 3 of 8 (3,056 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-22-2010 02:35 PM in reply to: DouglasLauritsen

Thank you for your support.

 

Unfortunately, this did not resolve my problem.

 

I uninstalled all autodesk programs on my computer and attempted to run through the LT installation again. However the check box remains grayed out and the subtext error is the same.

 

I re-read the installation directions and saw that I should be able to select my language from the initial install wizard page drop-down. On that page though the drop down is blank with no options available.


Additionally, the software crashes shortly after I attempt to open the dialogue box seen in the picture below....

 

734i409F270B70CF5043

 

I sent the error report to Autodesk.

 

 

 

Alumni
Posts: 642
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Message 4 of 8 (3,052 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-22-2010 03:00 PM in reply to: mixminus

Let’s look at the installer log files. Clear out your temp folder. %TEMP% form Start <> Run or the Address bar in Windows Explorer will get you to the temp folder the system is using. When you have this cleared out re run the installer and redo the steps that cause this error report. When you submit it add 2776872 to the details text box. When you are out of the installer look in the temp folder for any .log files and wrap them into a .zip file and submit them as an attachment here in this forum topic. Also look for a .dmp file.



Douglas Lauritsen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
mixminus
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 5 of 8 (3,043 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-22-2010 06:00 PM in reply to: DouglasLauritsen

completed....

Thank you!!

Alumni
Posts: 642
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Message 6 of 8 (3,032 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-23-2010 09:36 AM in reply to: mixminus

I am not sure how much help I can be here. From the reading I have been doing on some of what I found you may end up reinstalling Windows 7.

 

The last thing in the call stack is that msvcr90 is returning invalid parameters. This is a MS Visual C++ library. Do you have any of the MS Visual C++ 2005 or 2008 Redistributables installed? If so you might try uninstalling and reinstalling them. You can get them from Microsoft or from the AutoCAD LT media. They are in the “x**\support\VCRedist folder” of the download extraction or DVD. ** is 64 for 64-bit OS’s and 86 is for 32-bit OS’s. After reinstalling them, run a Windows Update. You might also preinstall them then try the AutoCAD LT installer again.

 

Viruses and Malware are known to cause problems with this library. You should download a new virus/malware signature for your antivirus/antimalware application and run a full scan.

 

I also found information that suggests bad memory can cause this. I’d assume your Mac OS would be having troubles if that were the case. Also device drivers seem to be a potential cause. Because this is a virtual machine it might be the virtual machine or Parallels.

 

I am going to ask a developer to look at the error report. I’ll post their response when I have it.

 

Let me know how things fair from the suggestions above.



Douglas Lauritsen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

Member
mixminus
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎09-21-2010
Message 7 of 8 (3,019 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-23-2010 02:14 PM in reply to: DouglasLauritsen

Dear Douglas,

 

I followed your suggestions including the visual C++ reload and virus scan with no success.

 

Taking a cue from your suggestion that the cause may be linked to the virtual OS's drivers, I decided to re-install the virtual machine. As soon as this was complete, I was able to install AutoCAD with absolutely no problems. I'm assuming that I must have done something to modify the default installation to make it inhospitable for AutoCAD but I guess we'll never really know for sure.....

 

Thank you so much for talking me through this.

 

-Josh

Alumni
Posts: 642
Registered: ‎04-16-2008
Message 8 of 8 (2,997 Views)

Re: language error when trying to install AutoCAD LT 2011

09-24-2010 10:20 AM in reply to: mixminus

It is good to hear you have it working.



Douglas Lauritsen
Support Specialist
Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Welcome to the new Autodesk Community!
If this is your first visit, click here to get started and make the most of the Community. Let us know what you think of the new experience in the Community Feedback Forum.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community




Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube