Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Vault 2011 SQL Installation Folder

3 REPLIES 3
Message 1 of 4
Anonymous
480 Views, 3 Replies

Vault 2011 SQL Installation Folder

We are currently attempting to upgrade from Autodesk Inventor/Vault 2009 to 2011. We have a dedicated server that we have installed Vault on for a few years with each upgrade. For some reason when the server was set up, it was partitioned to have 12 GB on C:, and over 300 GB on D:. 2011 finally has "broken the bank" and requires more space than we have available. It claims it needs over 9 total GB to install on our server. Here's my question.

When I attempt to install the new Vault, it always defaults to using the existing AUTODESKVAULT SQL database. I am not a SQL pro, but I have no idea how to allow me to install this information on the 😧 drive. I have already used the ADMS to detach, migrate, and reattach the vault and all content libraries to the 😧 drive.

I read through http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/item?siteID=123112&id=5723934&linkID=9261340 which is dated 2007, but doesn't refer to the newer Vault installations. It involved changing the setup.ini file to point to a different drive entirely, and therefore creating a "new" local AUTODESKVAULT SQL instance.

The only option I really have right now is to somehow have everything involving the 2011 Vault installed on the 😧 drive.

Any suggestions? Thanks! Edited by: gradys on May 12, 2010 1:36 PM
3 REPLIES 3
Message 2 of 4
Anonymous
in reply to: Anonymous

Assuming you have a backup for your Vault 2009 databases (made via the
ADMS-Console); try changing the locations of the databases and filestore to
the 😧 drive by doing a restore of that backup. This way the software will
remain on C and the data will be on D.