Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
OutlawSS
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Message 1 of 5 (368 Views)
Accepted Solution

Using older software I own on a Windows 7 computer

368 Views, 4 Replies
09-01-2011 06:52 AM

I own Planix Suite and AutoCAD LT 97. I am getting back into design and would like to use these, but cannot get them to run even in compatability mode . Is there anything else I can do?

Thanks, Sherri:smileysurprised:

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (365 Views)

Re: Using older software I own on a Windows 7 computer

09-01-2011 08:02 AM in reply to: OutlawSS

Autodesk products prior to the 2010 line are not supported on Windows 7. 

 

You should consider the XP Mode Virtual Machine offered by Microsoft.  This will allow you to install a fully-featured version of Windows XP on your Windows 7 to use for older programs.  It is free for licensed users of Windows 7.

 

http://www.microsoft.com/windows/virtual-pc/download.aspx

 

 

Help Improve the Autodesk Discussion Groups
--------------------------------------------------------
If I was able to resolve your issue, please select the "Accept as Solution" option so that you can help fellow members quickly find solutions to their problems. Please add Kudos to a post if you were helped by a post that you did not author.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
OutlawSS
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎09-01-2011
Message 3 of 5 (352 Views)

Re: Using older software I own on a Windows 7 computer

09-01-2011 05:37 PM in reply to: TravisNave

:smileyhappy:Thank you! I was trying to load my old ME as a second OS right after I posted, good to know about Virtual Machine!

New Member
Lucelia.silva
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-20-2012
Message 4 of 5 (279 Views)

Re: Using older software I own on a Windows 7 computer

06-20-2012 12:45 PM in reply to: OutlawSS

I am trying to install mechanical desktop 6, but i don't get it.

I receive an error 436:4:1 -  about license...

does anybody know to resolve it???

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 5 (264 Views)

Re: Using older software I own on a Windows 7 computer

06-21-2012 10:36 AM in reply to: Lucelia.silva

Read the solution I posted above on this.  There is no way you can get that old version to run and license on Windows 7 because the licensing service is not meant to run on Windows 7 and will not work right.  You have to run it in a XP Mode virtual machine or else install it on Windows XP on another box.  That's really your only solution.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube