Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
deandavis
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Message 1 of 4 (59 Views)

Upgrading Acad 2008 network licenses to Acad 2010 network licenses

59 Views, 3 Replies
02-27-2012 09:05 AM

I am in the process of upgrading our network licenses of AutoCAD 2008 to AutoCAD 2010.  We are a subscription customer and my question is this.  Will our network licenses for 2008 continue to work for our 2008 users as I start installing and authorizing our 2010 licenses.  I have 50 network licenses and I want to make sure that all our 2008 users are not negatively impacted while I deploy the 2010 installations.

 

Thanks,

Dean Davis

Cad Admininstrator

Chevron. Richmond Refinery

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 4 (55 Views)

Re: Upgrading Acad 2008 network licenses to Acad 2010 network licenses

02-27-2012 10:00 AM in reply to: deandavis

It's strange you are upgrading to 2010 on the days leading up to 2013.  If your product is under Subscription for 2010, you should be autofulfulled to the latest version.  If you are upgrading your 2008 direct to 2010 legacy, then you should be able to combine your license files.  However, you will need to stop using 2008 after 120 days after your upgrade registered license file.  It's just an odd request to see a network update to old software three releases back.  Kind of throws a wrench into the mix. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
deandavis
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎08-30-2007
Message 3 of 4 (55 Views)

Re: Upgrading Acad 2008 network licenses to Acad 2010 network licenses

02-27-2012 10:05 AM in reply to: deandavis

Thanks for your response.  The reason for not moving to the newer version of AutoCAD is because our drawing management software viewing application doesn't support anything newer than AutoCAD 2010 at the present time.

*Expert Elite*
dgorsman
Posts: 5,056
Registered: ‎10-12-2006
Message 4 of 4 (47 Views)

Re: Upgrading Acad 2008 network licenses to Acad 2010 network licenses

02-27-2012 11:29 AM in reply to: deandavis

A number of our clients have the same restriction, but we still run 2011 (SP1 for 2012 wasn't release when we migrated).  We use TrueView to mass downsave the DWG files prior to returning them to the clients, with no complaints.  With everything "plain AutoCAD", then there won't be any issues with object enabler versions and the like.

----------------------------------
If you are going to fly by the seat of your pants, expect friction burns.
Adopt. Adapt. Overcome. Or be overcome.
A good question will be halfway to a good answer.


You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube