Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
hockley91
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-15-2005
Message 1 of 4 (119 Views)

Ultimate Suite and one license.....multiple programs...

119 Views, 3 Replies
12-13-2011 03:12 PM

I believe our office was under the impression that one license would allow us to use the software on any machine.  This is true to a certain point.  If one our machines is using Revit Architecture, then no one else may use ANY of the other software that we spent $$$ on.

 

For example, If I am using Revit Architecture, then no one else can use Revit Structure, MEP, Autocad, Showcase, Quantity Take Off, Navisworks, etc.   That makes no sense to me regarding the license.  I would understand it, if I am on Revit Architecture then no one else can use Revit Architecture.  That would make perfect sense.  The other software should remain open however.  If we can only use one software at a time, then the price should be lower. 

 

Yes, I know....this is a good deal vs. getting the products individually....but we don't really need Revit Structure, MEP, Autocad....all we really needed was Navisworks and Revit, Showcase and QTO.

 

Has Autodesk thought about a custom user package per license?  I think people would go for that.  If they were able to get multiple software on one license, but with an a la carte menu.  That would be a wonderful sales model and would cater more to your loyal consumers.

 

 

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,373
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 4 (108 Views)

Re: Ultimate Suite and one license.....multiple programs...

12-13-2011 04:06 PM in reply to: hockley91

Hi Hockley,

 

Thank you very much for the valuable feedback. I will be passing your comments on to the appropriate parties for review and or potential changes. Please feel free to let us know if you have any additional suggestions or positive criticism down the road as well.



Philip Schmelzer
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 4 (102 Views)

Re: Ultimate Suite and one license.....multiple programs...

12-13-2011 04:44 PM in reply to: philip.s

the price is already lower they could have easily charged the 40 grand instead of 12 grand for the ultimate suite

thats how licensing has always worked

but that is a good idea

Valued Contributor
hockley91
Posts: 52
Registered: ‎02-15-2005
Message 4 of 4 (88 Views)

Re: Ultimate Suite and one license.....multiple programs...

12-14-2011 07:44 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I think we were more dissapointed about it more than anything else.  It was not what we were expecting and we did not see any documentation stating the issue with one license in a Building Suite.  It may have been clearly stated, but we may have overlooked it.

 

In the end though, we are satisfied with the software though.  It's just been a bit stressful on some projects where I need to be in Revit and an Interiors person needs to be in Showcase and another person is doing Quantity Takeoff's...we all have deadlines.

 

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube