Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
jjwillett
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-10-2013
Message 1 of 14 (1,765 Views)

Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

1765 Views, 13 Replies
06-10-2013 05:14 PM

Hi, I am attempting to install Autocad 2010 on a new PC but keep getting an error that the serial number is invalid. The serial number is written clearly on the box and I am using the media from inside the box.

This copy of Autocad used to run on another PC which I uninstalled. Are the issues I am having caused by the fact that I did not do a license transfer before I uninstalled? Or is there some other issue?

 

Regards,

Josh

Alumni
arlinpega.bibat
Posts: 429
Registered: ‎06-14-2011
Message 2 of 14 (1,761 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-10-2013 05:47 PM in reply to: jjwillett

Dear jjwillett:

 

This error usuallly happens when the serial number has been upgraded to a newer version. You can directly contact our Registration and Activation Team or give them a call at 1-800-551-1490 (option #1 for English, then option #1 again for standalone deployment) for a manual activation. Alternatively, you can send me your serial number with request code (click on my name arlinpega.bibat and click on "Send this user a private message") so that I may validate and assist you with manual activation.

 

Best Regards, 

 

 



Arlin Bibat
Active Member
jjwillett
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-10-2013
Message 3 of 14 (1,755 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-10-2013 06:24 PM in reply to: arlinpega.bibat

Hi Arlin, I think you may be right. I have found install files for autocad 2011 on the client's server. Next time I am on site I will try to install Autocad 2011 with the same serial number and see if that resolves the problem. I'll let you know how I go.

 

Thanks for your help,

Josh 

Active Member
jjwillett
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-10-2013
Message 4 of 14 (1,733 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-11-2013 08:58 PM in reply to: arlinpega.bibat

Hi Arlin, I can only find a 32 bit version of autocad 2011 lt on the clients server. This new laptop is 64 bit so I cannot install. Is there anywhere I can download the 64 bit version?

 

Regards,

Josh

Customer Service
joane.bonghanoy
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 5 of 14 (1,727 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-11-2013 10:58 PM in reply to: jjwillett

Hi Josh,

 

Click here to download your AutoCAD LT 2010 64 bit version. Clicking on the "Downloading New/Updated Product" will take you to the Download page with all the other Autodesk Products. 



Joane Bonghanoy
Active Member
jjwillett
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-10-2013
Message 6 of 14 (1,712 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-12-2013 10:26 PM in reply to: joane.bonghanoy

Hi Joane, I have downloaded and installed 64 bit autocad lt 2011 on the new laptop. I then tried to export the 2011 lt license from the old laptop and received the error - 'export request failed, the serial number you entered is not valid'.

I noticed that the serial number and product key listed were different from the ones on the Autocad 2010 lt box which Arlin though may have been upgraded. I also tried activating autocad 2011 lt with the 2010 serials but this also failed.

Can you please advise where to go from here?

Customer Service
joane.bonghanoy
Posts: 666
Registered: ‎06-06-2011
Message 7 of 14 (1,707 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-12-2013 11:16 PM in reply to: jjwillett

Hi Josh,

 

I can manually generate the Activation Code for you instead of trying to importing/exporting the License.

 

Please send me a Private Message (click on my joane.bonghanoy profile name and then “Send this user a private message”) with your Serial Number and Request Code



Joane Bonghanoy
Active Member
jjwillett
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎06-10-2013
Message 8 of 14 (1,636 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

06-24-2013 04:42 PM in reply to: joane.bonghanoy

Is anyone else able to help me with this?

New Member
andrew.knoll
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-08-2014
Message 9 of 14 (534 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

02-10-2014 12:59 PM in reply to: jjwillett

I, too, have a similiar issue and my Support Case (Case ID: 09228311) hasn't been assigned or addressed yet.  

We changed the hostname of this computer when it was deployed to a new user. After doing so, AutoCAD 2010 states that the Activation Expired. When we attempt to reactivate it, it fails with "The serial number you entered is not valid. Try again. (1)".

Please help us to resolve this. Thank you!

 

Sincerely,

Tim Banks (c/o Andrew Knoll)

Community Manager
jessica.t
Posts: 1,158
Registered: ‎02-28-2012
Message 10 of 14 (517 Views)

Re: Serial number is invalid for Autocad 2010

02-10-2014 03:40 PM in reply to: andrew.knoll

Hi Andrew and welcome to the Autodesk Community!

 

Apologies that it has taken so long to get your case resolved. I have marked it urgent and requested that it be processed as soon as possible. We appreciate your patience! If you have further questions or concerns please respond to my post. Thank you!



Jessica Thrasher

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube