Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
jdmacdaddy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-06-2010
Message 1 of 3 (86 Views)

Revit Update 1 Erases Colors Section of Revit.ini

86 Views, 2 Replies
07-17-2011 03:55 PM

We’re using custom inifile.xml files for our deployment of Revit Suite Architecture, MEP, and Structure. It generates a custom Revit.ini file to the location \Program\UserDataCache and works quite well. However, we noticed that after applying Update 1, it erased the content of the [COLORS] section of the Revit.ini file in this location. It only seems to be affecting Arch and Structure. For MEP, that section is not getting erased.

 

Any ideas what might be going on? Is there a tool to automate editing of the Revit.ini files on all of our clients?

Mentor
Darin.Green
Posts: 156
Registered: ‎05-18-2008
Message 2 of 3 (62 Views)

Re: Revit Update 1 Erases Colors Section of Revit.ini

07-22-2011 02:06 PM in reply to: jdmacdaddy

A possible solution for future issues like this would be to copy the correct ini file to a location on the server. On the users machine create a batch file that will copy the correct ini file from the server and into the userdatacache directory.

 

Keep in mind that whenever you apply additional updates to Revit Arch and Struct, that you will need to migrate both ini files to ensure nothing is missing and the updates were successfully applied.

 

Hope this helps

Darin Green
Synergis Technologies

If this resolve your issue/question, give Kudos or Accept as Solution...
Contributor
jdmacdaddy
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎07-06-2010
Message 3 of 3 (47 Views)

Re: Revit Update 1 Erases Colors Section of Revit.ini

07-27-2011 08:22 AM in reply to: Darin.Green

Thanks for the reply Darin. Copying the file from a server location is what we have done in the past, but for the 2012 deployment, we are using the new Revit Deployment Utility to generate Revit.ini from inifile.xml. The benefit of using this utility is that it creates an [INSTALL] section that has unique identifiers based on the machine. That section is needed if using Revit in a CITRIX environment, from what I understand. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube