Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
rejspencer
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-03-2011
Message 1 of 5 (2,025 Views)

Revit Architecture 2012 Installation Fail

2025 Views, 4 Replies
07-04-2011 10:28 AM

Hello, I've been trying for the past two days to install Revit Architecture 2012 and every time I try, the installiaiton fails. This is the message I get in the installiation log:

 

2011/7/4:13:16:34     RJSpencer     RJSPENCER-PC     Installing Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable (x86): C:\Autodesk\Autodesk_Revit_Architecture_2012_English_Win_32-64bit\3rdParty\x86\VCRedist\2010\vcredist_x86.exe /q /l C:\Users\RJSPEN~1\AppData\Local\Temp\vcredist_x86_2010.log

2011/7/4:13:16:36     RJSpencer     RJSPENCER-PC     Install Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable (x86) Failed Installation aborted, Result=1603

 

Now I'm getting fustrated because I already have Visual C++ 2010 installed on my computer and I'm getting more fustrated because the installer should see this and skip this step, correct?

 

I'm running an Alienware M11x, 4GB Ram, Windows 7 Home Premium 64-Bit.

 

EDIT: I just wanted to add that I've already sucessfully installed and ran AutoCAD Architecture 2012 and Sketchbook Pro 2011 on this system, so I know it can run autodesk software.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,013
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 5 (1,994 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2012 Installation Fail

07-05-2011 01:57 PM in reply to: rejspencer

Copy the contents to your hard drive and edit the setup.ini file to remove the prerequisite check for Visual C++.

 

See this link for an example of how to edit the setup.ini file:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=12002434&linkID=9240617

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
New Member
tknauss
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎08-18-2011
Message 3 of 5 (1,797 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2012 Installation Fail

08-18-2011 02:29 AM in reply to: TravisNave

that doesn't work for revit 2012 that only works for autocad

 

New Member
pigorpipa
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎12-23-2011
Message 4 of 5 (1,425 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2012 Installation Fail

12-23-2011 11:43 AM in reply to: rejspencer

Just uninstall Microsoft Visual C++ 2010 Redistributable from your computer  and try again.. This worked for me!

New Member
eduardo-gonzalez30
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎06-30-2013
Message 5 of 5 (475 Views)

Re: Revit Architecture 2012 Installation Fail

06-30-2013 07:35 AM in reply to: rejspencer

Many thanks, uninstalling the C++ 2010 was the solution... Many many thx!!! :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube