Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
NateWW
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 1 of 9 (282 Views)

Revit 2014 installation help

282 Views, 8 Replies
11-30-2013 06:16 PM

Hello everyone, 

 

I'm trying to install Revit 2014 on my Lenovo Y400. I'm at the point where it's telling me to install, I keep getting this error message that I've attached. 

 

I've tried closing Revit from the task manager, but each time I do, it terminates the entire installation and sends me to the desktop. I've done this mulitple times, hoping for it to work. It hasn't. 

 

What am I doing wrong? 


Thank you very much,

-NateWW

 

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 2 of 9 (253 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-02-2013 05:42 AM in reply to: NateWW

Nate,

 

Using Windows Task Manager make sure the Revit.exe is not running before starting the setup process, check both the Applications and Process's tab.

If you choose OK to let the installer close the Revit.exe does the install not contiune?

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
NateWW
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 3 of 9 (240 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-02-2013 06:19 PM in reply to: DannyHubbard

I'm not sure what you mean by "make sure the Revit.exe is not running before starting the setup process, " If close Revit before the installation process, there is no installation process, from my understanding.

 

It seems like Revit needs to be open and running in order to install. Just like every other program I've ever installed.

 

I'm using the Download Now option, it's giving me the button to install. I click it, and it opens Revit, I press Install Now in Revit, enter my product code. I hit Install again, And it gives me the error.

When I try to hit ok, the popup pops up again. If I end Revit in the task manager, the whole process is terminated.

 

Sorry for the confusion, I'm just not understanding. 

Thank you.

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 4 of 9 (229 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-03-2013 05:33 AM in reply to: NateWW

The Revit.exe has nothing to do with the installation process. The only time you should see the Revit.exe in the Windows Task Manager process's is when Revit is running or if the executable didn't close correctly for some reason after closing Revit.

The error you are getting indicates this executable is running when you are trying to install so certain files can not be update until the executable is closed.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
NateWW
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 5 of 9 (216 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-03-2013 08:51 PM in reply to: DannyHubbard

I don't see Revit.exe in the task manager at all before or during the installation process. I understand now what the issue is, it's just that I don't see anywhere that revit.exe is running. 

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 6 of 9 (203 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-04-2013 07:16 AM in reply to: NateWW

My only other thought would be in Task Manager on the Proceess's tab check the box at the bottom to show process for all users.

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
NateWW
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 7 of 9 (185 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-05-2013 08:30 PM in reply to: NateWW

I found it under the Details tab in task manager. It says Suspended. I try to End it, and it says "This Operation could not be completed. Access denied."

 

 

Employee
DannyHubbard
Posts: 255
Registered: ‎05-17-2007
Message 8 of 9 (167 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-06-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: NateWW

I would start but just trying a reboot to see if that will free up the Revit.exe, but not sure.

 

You should also read this article.

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2013/10/windows-81-support-please-upgrade-cautiously.html

 

Thanks,

Danny



Danny Hubbard
QA Analyst
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
NateWW
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎11-30-2013
Message 9 of 9 (136 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 installation help

12-10-2013 08:13 PM in reply to: DannyHubbard
So I finally got it to install, after 3 restarts the program finally went away. Thank you for your help!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube