Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
i.baker
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-24-2013
Message 1 of 15 (1,258 Views)

Revit 2014 error on Startup

1258 Views, 14 Replies
10-24-2013 08:39 PM

Hi

 

I'm geting a problem on startup of Revit 2014 on serveral PCs:

 

'Default External Servers not available'

'Revit cannot find the default servers for the external services:

"Duct/Fitting Accessory Pressure Drop Calculator"

(long string of letters and numbers) by vendor "ADSK"

"Pipe/Fitting Accessory Pressure Drop Calculator"

(long string of letters and numbers) by vendor "ADSK"

"Pipe Pressure Drop Calculator"

(long string of letters and numbers) by vendor "ADSK"

 "Plumbing flow calculator"

(long string of letters and numbers) by vendor "ADSK"

 

The following errors are logged in the journal file:

' 0:< DBG_WARN: The public key has been broken up. And the last error is 0.: line 32 of AddIn\AddInVerificationManager.cpp.

' 0:< DBG_WARN: Can't get cryptography provider.: line 37 of AddIn\AddInVerificationManager.cpp.

' 0:< DBG_WARN: Can't import public key!: line 46 of AddIn\AddInVerificationManager.cpp.

 

' 0:< DBG_INFO: A mandatory external service is missing its default server.Name(Duct Fitting/Accessory Pressure Drop Calculator), VendorId(ADSK), ServiceId(785d0bd7-3088-489a-af7a-593fc32e2540): line 258 of ExternalServices\ExternalServicesManager.cpp. 

 

This happens with and without the Revit 2014 service pack installed, with different user accounts.

 

Does anyone have any ideas?

 

Thanks for the help

 

 

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,351
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 2 of 15 (1,222 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

10-25-2013 10:23 AM in reply to: i.baker

Can you try the following steps:

 

1.  Repair installation

2.  Uninstall/ reinstall. (make sure installer is run as admin or has elevated privileges).  When you re-run setup, right mouse click on it and choose "Run As Administrator".

 

Thanks to the Revit Guru Chris Aquino to the tip/workflow.

 



David Lau
New Member
kmwright.asu
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2013
Message 3 of 15 (1,082 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

10-30-2013 01:42 PM in reply to: i.baker

We're having the same issue, we're you able to resolve it?

 

If you log in as the local machine administrator the program runs fine.  Any other account and the error pops up.

 

-Kyle W.

Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,351
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 4 of 15 (1,058 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

11-04-2013 07:13 AM in reply to: kmwright.asu

Are you using Mandatory Profiles?  I am told from the Revit QA that this is a setup that has not been tested with Revit.

 

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/windows/desktop/bb776895(v=vs.85).aspx



David Lau
New Member
kmwright.asu
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-30-2013
Message 5 of 15 (1,051 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

11-04-2013 07:33 AM in reply to: i.baker

Indeed, we are using mandatory profiles.  My guess is it's related to that, and something is installed in the profile at installation.  I copied much of the main user profile into our mandatory profile and was unable to get it to work though.

 

For now we just have it set to ignore\bypass the error as students report that the software still works as they need.

 

-Kyle

New Member
grantdzaman
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎10-08-2010
Message 6 of 15 (967 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

12-10-2013 02:56 PM in reply to: i.baker

I am receiving this error after the installation of update release 2 for Revit 2014.

The error is on the start page of Revit.

Looks like the update release 2 is creating the problem.

 

Let me know if a solution exists.

Thanks,

 Look at attached error

 

Active Member
iceman1849
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎07-26-2006
Message 7 of 15 (903 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

12-21-2013 11:27 AM in reply to: i.baker

I'm having an issue with Autodesk Revit 2014 "Cannot find default servers for external services" I'm not using mandatory user profiles, I'm not connected to a server. I did download to the service pack 2. Has anyone find a solution for this? I'm getting ready for a class on Revit MEP 2014 and need the duct fitting, pipe, plumbing flow calculators to work.

I appreciate any assistance.

Thanks Brian

iceman1849@aol.com

New Member
ROCMNTAB
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2014
Message 8 of 15 (790 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

01-20-2014 12:21 AM in reply to: i.baker

I've got the same problem. I can't figure out why, Some clients have no issue  but then some do....

 

Same admin point, can anyone help? 

 

I would settle with blocking this error for the user because they don't use it anyway. (i think)

New Member
lajansen
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-10-2014
Message 9 of 15 (470 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

04-10-2014 12:43 AM in reply to: ROCMNTAB
the error can be suppresed by the ini file in the appdata folder of the user you find the revit.ini adding the line [DSNM] Launching Revit With Invalid Services=1001 prevents the message from poping up
New Member
ROCMNTAB
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-10-2014
Message 10 of 15 (465 Views)

Re: Revit 2014 error on Startup

04-10-2014 01:19 AM in reply to: i.baker

Thanks, i'll try that! :smileyhappy:

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube