Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
dorelharar
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 1 of 16 (1,086 Views)

Revit 2013 installation .net

1086 Views, 15 Replies
12-10-2012 09:00 AM

Hi

I'm trying to install revit 2013 student, the installation cannot go on without .net Framework 4.0

I've installed .net Framework 4.5 full, but the installation doeswnt reconize .net and give me the same error...

Any idea how to solve this?

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 16 (1,081 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

12-10-2012 09:24 AM in reply to: dorelharar

.net 4.5 is not .net 4

uninstall .net 4.5  and install .net 4

what OS is this?

if its windows 8 its not supported

you can search here for workarounds for windows 8: http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/forums/searchpage/tab/message?q=windows+8

Active Member
dorelharar
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 3 of 16 (1,038 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-06-2013 05:13 PM in reply to: dorelharar

Hi i've install .Net Framework 4.0 full, still same thing, i've uninstall used the .Net clean tool re installed and still the installation does not recognize .NET framework.

i have windows 7 ultimate 32bit, if anyone can help i will appriciate it i dont know what else can i do...

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 4 of 16 (1,025 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-07-2013 08:29 AM in reply to: dorelharar

My recommendation would be to uninstall .NET Framework 4.0 and 4.5, reboot, delete any files in the Windows temp folder and then try reinstalling .NET Framework 4.0 using the installer that is available within the Revit installation files.  Specificially, you should run the dotNetFx40_Full_x86_x64.exe installer that is located in the following folder:
3rdParty\NET\4\wcu\dotNetFramework

 

This should ensure that your system is configured with the version of .NET Framework 4.0 that is required for Autodesk Revit 2013.

 

Also, if you are going to install .NET Framework 4.5, you'll want to install Update Release 2 for Autodesk Revit 2013, which resolves a Ribbon display issue.  This update can be downloaded from the following page:

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=20679039&linkID=16831210

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

Active Member
dorelharar
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 5 of 16 (989 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-09-2013 01:54 AM in reply to: tony.michniewicz

1.gif

 

Hi Tony i"ve done what you told me still same error, is there anything else i can try?

could it be the OS( i've installed it two months ago, works fine so far)?

Thanks

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 6 of 16 (973 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-09-2013 12:01 PM in reply to: dorelharar

I made several attempts to reproduce the problem you've encountered but have been unsuccessful in doing so.  I would like to gather a bit more information that should help me troubleshoot this issue further.

 

1. What versions of .NET Framework do you currently have installed on your PC?  You can find this information in the Windows registry under the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\NET Framework Setup\NDP key.  There you should find entries for v2.0.XXXXX, v3.0, v3.5 and v4.  For v2.0.XXXXX, v3.0 and v3.5, select each key and there should be a Version string value that contains the value I'm looking for.  For v4, you need to go one key deeper and select the Client and Full keys and then you'll find the Version string value.

 

2. A copy of the log file from your failed installation attempt.  To get a clean copy of this file, I recommend going to your Windows temp folder (type %temp% in Windows Explorer to access this location) and deleting any files and/or folders that already exist in this location.  Next, attempt to install Revit 2013 again, wait for it to fail and then exit the install.  You should now find an "Autodesk Revit 2013 Setup.log" file in the Windows temp folder.  Let's start with this file and see if it holds any clues.

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

Active Member
dorelharar
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 7 of 16 (961 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-09-2013 04:25 PM in reply to: tony.michniewicz

Hi Tony ,i checked the versions:

v2.0.50727 ---> Version 2.0.50727.4927
v3.0 ---> Version 3.0.30729.4926
v3.5 ---> Version 3.5.30729.4926
v4 ---> Version 4.0.30319

 

I was enable to get A copy of the log file from my failed installation attempt, it didn't produce one...

 

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 8 of 16 (951 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-10-2013 06:16 AM in reply to: dorelharar

Well, you have the same version of .NET Framework 4 as I do on my test PC so I don't believe that is the problem.  My next suggestion would be to  dotNetFx40_Full_x86_x64.exe installer, located in the 3rdParty\NET\4\wcu\dotNetFramework folder, and select the Reapir .NET Framework 4 from this computer option.  If this install completes successfully, I would then try the Revit 2013 install again and if it still fails, see if it generated a log file.  If you experience any problems during the repair of .NET Framework 4, I would check the Windows temp folder for a log file associated with this install.  There should be two files, one html and one txt, that both start with "Microsoft .NET Framework 4 Setup..."

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

Active Member
dorelharar
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎12-10-2012
Message 9 of 16 (942 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-10-2013 07:56 AM in reply to: tony.michniewicz

Iv'e repaired .Net through dotNetFx40_Full_x86_x64.exe installer ,it succeeded.

the revit installation gave me the same error and it didn't generate an installation log/txt file, maybe because i get the error just after i press install.

Employee
tony.michniewicz
Posts: 124
Registered: ‎11-29-2001
Message 10 of 16 (936 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 installation .net

01-10-2013 08:24 AM in reply to: dorelharar

I found another post that involves a .NET Framework version problem during the installation of another Autodesk product, DWG TrueView, and came up with a few more suggestions.

 

The first is to install update KB2468871for Microsoft .NET Framework 4, which can be downloaded from the following link: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?displaylang=en&id=3556.  This update resolved the problem for several individuals so I'm hoping this may resolve your issue as well.

 

If not, the next suggestion would be to use the standalone installer for Microsoft .NET Framework 4, which can be downloaded from the following link: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=17718.  It appears that this action resolved the problem for a small number of individuals.

 

My fingers are crossed in hopes that one of these suggestions works for you but if not, let me know and I'll continue my research.

 

Tony Michniewicz

Autodesk Revit QA

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube