Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 1 of 5 (2,979 Views)
Accepted Solution

Revit 2013 Installation issues on certain machines - Error 1712 - Roll Back

2979 Views, 4 Replies
10-05-2012 10:55 AM

Hi all,

 

We are currently doing a mop up exercise of the Revit 2013 installs we missed via automated delivery. Everything seems to have gone fine except some machines have had difficulties with the silent install and Revit 2013 appears to be rolling back at the point when writing to the registry. Can anyone help?

 

Basically we are getting the following errors in the log...

 

MSI (s) (84:A8) [18:06:43:840]: Windows Installer installed the product. Product Name: Revit 2013. Product Version: 12.02.21203. Product Language: 1033. Manufacturer: Autodesk. Installation success or error status: 1603.

 

MSI (s) (84:A8) [18:06:43:746]: Note: 1: 1712
MSI (s) (84:A8) [18:06:43:746]: Product: Revit 2013 - - Error 1712.One or more of the files required to restore your computer to its previous state could not be found.  Restoration will not be possible.

 

What do these mean and how do you fix them? I can only think that its something to do with persmissions?

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!
Product Support
dembkod
Posts: 503
Registered: ‎05-26-2010
Message 2 of 5 (2,808 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Installation issues on certain machines - Error 1712 - Roll Back

10-25-2012 10:55 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Duncan,

Hello. This is an advanced installation method and can be difficult.

The 1603 error is a bit generic, but often can indicate access limitations to the user account you are logged in with.

The 1712 error is another Generic Windows message and can happen with all sorts of products. It could be in reference to an incomplete process that the installer is suddenly competing with.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/823826

Have you checked the manufacturer of the software you are using to perform the Automated delivery? Also, sometimes, installing in Silent mode may cause grief. If you turn off Silent mode, it may help.

Thank you for taking part in our community!

 

David Dembkoski

ADSK_logo_S_black_web.png

Product Support Specialist

Autodesk Product Support



David Dembkoski
Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 3 of 5 (2,789 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Installation issues on certain machines - Error 1712 - Roll Back

10-26-2012 01:39 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi,

 

Thanks for your response, i have been meaning to get back to this discussion post.

 

Basically, i managed to fox the issue but it wasnt easy...

 

The first steps i took were to create a Deployment Image that didnt run in silent mode as the logs created through the silent install didnt give me enough information to go on.

 

I then tried to enable verbose logging but couldnt get it to work in Windows 7 but tried installing Revit anyway.

 

When i first ran the Deployment Image, i got the attached error / popup 1: 5: 2: adlmPITSetProductInformation failed 3: 2

 

I then looked up the first issue which lead me to here...

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/1-52-adlmPIT-SetProductInformation-failed-3-25-...

 

Following Travis's instructions, i removed the ProductInformation.pit and the R1 folder from their locations. Once id successfully done this i tried to install Revit 2013 again and it installed fine.

 

The issue i then had was that some of the previous products installed couldnt obtain a licence so i presumed that the Productinformation.pit was corrupt and the only way to get all products working again was to uninstall all autodesk products and reinstall.

 

Once i'd done that everything worked exactly how it should.

 

I did speak to our Technical Subscription support and they informed me that the ProductInformation file is a file that is written to at installation and that It contains the product information and licensing model of the products. Unfortunately, this file can get corrupted at times and then the installer sequences are unable to write to the file at install time.

 

So basically next time i see this issue, i will assess whether it would be easier to rebuild the machine than uninstall and reinstall but it depends how many products are on the machine.

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!
Active Member
psynan
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-10-2013
Message 4 of 5 (1,855 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Installation issues on certain machines - Error 1712 - Roll Back

02-10-2013 02:31 PM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi there,

 

I am getting the same error. Here is my story.

 

I've firstly installed Revit 2013 with Building Design Suite Ultimate 2013 without any problem. (without any other program)

 

After a few days I decided to install  AutoCad Structural Detailing 2013 by using the with the same installation. However I get this error in the middle of the installation Error 1712.One or more of the files required to res.... 

 

I've tried the fix above but it didn't help.

 

(I'm using win7 x64 on hp dc5800 microtower)

 

Any help is apprreciated.

Valued Mentor
DuncanBrannan82
Posts: 297
Registered: ‎02-11-2007
Message 5 of 5 (1,837 Views)

Re: Revit 2013 Installation issues on certain machines - Error 1712 - Roll Back

02-11-2013 03:21 AM in reply to: DuncanBrannan82

Hi,

 

Just out of curiostiy, did you rebuild the machine or just uninstall the Autodesk products?

 

If you uninstalled them you really need to make sure that anything related to Autodesk was removed. Simply using Add/Remove Programs doesn't resolve i'm afraid and you have to do clean uninstalls of everything and manually remove anything related to the Autodesk Licenses like the PIT file which can become corrupt on install or uninstall.

 

Rebuilding the machine from scratch is the better option as if the machine is cluttered, you should see some performance come back and the issue removed. Particularly with files that have been left behind by previous installs and uninstalls.

 

P.S - What messages did you get when you ran the install manually rather than Deployment Image in Silent Mode? Was it just the 1712 error that was flagged? Nothing more?

 

Regards,

 

Duncan

Duncan Brannan

If my post was helpful to you, please could you give "Kudos" and/or mark the "Accept as Solution" button(s) below. Thanks in Advance!

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube