Installation & Licensing

Reply
Valued Contributor
KimBruns
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 1 of 6 (132 Views)

Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

132 Views, 5 Replies
04-15-2013 01:28 PM

I already had AutoCAD 2013 on my machine before I have failed to completely install PDS Std.

 

I have tried to install this package on my machine 3 or 4 times now.  All that has been installed is Mudbox, Design Review, and Inventor.  I'm trying to get Mechanical Installed but it craps out each time.  The log file has a number "2" in it, that's all.  Am I supposed to go to the bathroom or what?

 

I have a Dell with a Xeon, 16gb Ram, Quadro 2000.

 

Please help!! How are you supposed to learn this stuff if you can't load it.

 

 

Geesh,

 

Kim


Product Design Suite 2015
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel Xeon E31270 @ 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (124 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-15-2013 01:57 PM in reply to: KimBruns

It's because you already have AutoCAD installed and updated.  See my 1603 error link to resolve this.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/AutoCAD-2013-Suite-failed-installation-aborted-...

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Valued Contributor
KimBruns
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 3 of 6 (113 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-15-2013 03:29 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Travis, thanks for your quick and informative reply.  I really appreaciate it.  You've saved me a lot of time searching for answers.

 

I wonder, has Autodesk ever thought about informing individuals who UPGRADE their products that they will have to uninstall their product before they can install it and the other packages they upgraded.  My reseller never mentioned it.  Is it buried in the fine print that no one reads?  Do they realize that  uninstalling and reinstalling is not a simply process and can mess up the registry.  

Is this really the best method they could come up with?  This is the kind of stuff Autodesk needs to fix for good instead of coming up with new features.  Autodesk, take a one year sabbatical from the new stuff and fix stuff like this.

 

Thanks,

 

 

Kim


Product Design Suite 2015
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel Xeon E31270 @ 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 6 (111 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-15-2013 03:41 PM in reply to: KimBruns
It's certainly the best solution I could come up with after extensive
testing. I'm right there with you.
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Product Support
david.lau
Posts: 1,350
Registered: ‎06-18-2008
Message 5 of 6 (87 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-18-2013 06:37 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for helping out Travis!!!



David Lau
Valued Contributor
KimBruns
Posts: 91
Registered: ‎09-21-2007
Message 6 of 6 (77 Views)

Re: Product Design Suite Std 2013 doesn't Intall Completely

04-18-2013 10:26 AM in reply to: KimBruns

David, can something be done about these installation issues. 

 

It's hard enough and time consuming to learn new software, but when you add onto that install issues which can take hours and/or days, it gets frustrating and can quickly take the excitement of learning a new product disappointing and laborious.

 

I've been running AutoCAD 2013 and our management was gracious enough to invest in 2 seats of  PDS Standard.  My partner and I were really looking forward to this when we both had failed installs twice.  Then I decided to post this link and thankfully received a quick response from Travis. 

 

According to what I've read I have to uninstall  SP1.1 or all my Autodesk Products along with support folders and registry remnants (which I may do).  Then reinstall again.

 

I have SP1.1 installed but when I go to Control Panel:smileytongue:rograms and Features, it isn't there as a separate line item.  I can't uninstall it.

 

Is this really the best solution to installing new software, having to uninstall some or all of it first?

 

Thanks for an answer,

 

Kim.


Product Design Suite 2015
Windows 7 Professional x64
Intel Xeon E31270 @ 3.4GHz
16GB RAM
NVIDIA Quadro 2000

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube