Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
randyridner
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
Message 1 of 4 (61 Views)

New computer, need help...

61 Views, 3 Replies
07-23-2013 01:00 PM

We have added a new computer and I need to transfer AutoCad to the new one. We are running 2008, but want to upgrade to 2013 or maybe even 2014, but need the program installed on the new computer, not the old one.

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,372
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 4 (55 Views)

Re: New computer, need help...

07-23-2013 01:31 PM in reply to: randyridner

Welcome to the community Randy!

 

Can you please provide additional inquiry details as I'm not sure that I fully understand the question. Do you no longer have access to a hard copy of AutoCAD 2008 anymore?

 

In order to upgrade an existing license, you wouldn't need to have the prior version of the software installed.



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
randyridner
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-23-2013
Message 3 of 4 (49 Views)

Re: New computer, need help...

07-23-2013 02:34 PM in reply to: philip.s
We still have the original disk, but my concern was that Autodesk would not allow for a second install to the new computer. Also, we did not want to purchase an entire new license for 2014 if we could upgrade instead.

Thanks,

Randy D. Ridner
GIS Land Data / Drafting Supervisor
555 New Salem Road
Murfreesboro, TN 37129
(615) 494-1066-Office
(931) 409-8523-Cell
randy.ridner@mtemc.com
Customer Service
amanda.k
Posts: 51
Registered: ‎02-24-2012
Message 4 of 4 (43 Views)

Re: New computer, need help...

07-23-2013 03:14 PM in reply to: randyridner

Hi Randy,

 

You are more than welcome to install your program on a second computer. The Software License Agreement details that you are allowed for two installations per seat of license, meaning one installation for a work computer and a second for a home computer or laptop. You cannot use these at the same time and they are for one user only.

 

To activate your second license, please simply install the program onto the desired machine and activate it using your existing Serial Number and Product Key.

 

If you would prefer to upgrade to AutoCAD 2014, Autodesk offers the upgrade pricing for up to 6 versions back, which encompasses your AutoCAD 2008. You can visit the Online Store or contact an Authorized Reseller for upgrade pricing.

 

Please don't hesitate to let us know if you have any other questions!



Amanda Kinley

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube