Installation & Licensing

Reply
*Max
Message 1 of 8 (166 Views)

Network license FATAL ERROR

166 Views, 7 Replies
05-21-2001 09:15 AM
Hello,

We had AutoCad Map 2000 Release 4 installed on a Windows NT 4.0 Workstation
version using a hardware lock (dongle).
Now we want to share that license around on several desktops.

We received a single network license code for this machine and installed
it.
Adlm is running and says we have 1 license, 0 in use. So far so good.
The PC is not an NT server, just a PC on a LAN with NT workstation
installed.
No autocad service packs are applied.
The system uses a static IP address and TCP/IP.
The system dates on all pc's are the same.
The dongle or hardware lock is no longer on the adlm license server machine.
The ACADSERVER variable is set on the license server: ACADSERVER="PC-HYLITE"
The server and clients are all on the same LAN, subnet.

We placed an image on the license server PC (called PC-HYLITE) for
deployment and then from the shared directory installed the client version
on another PC (called MADMAX) (tried both a client windows NT 4 workstation
and client Win 2000 workstation actually).

When we start the autocad map 2000 from the client PC's it fails with the
following error:

****************************************************************************
*********
Fatal Error: Security system ( hardware lock or network license ) is not
functioning or is improperly installed.
****************************************************************************
*********

The ACADSERVER variable is set on the clients as: ACADSERVER="@PC-HYLITE"

The clients can ping the server by name or IP.

Note that the PC's NetBIOS name or identification is PC-HYLITE (the adlm
server) and can't be entered in lowercase, even though the PC's TCP/IP DNS
related name is pc-hylite (lower case). In any case both upper and lowercase
names can be pinged from the client.

adlm is installed on D drive (also tried C: to no avail)

=========================================
Using the License Query tool from a CLIENT
(installed on server, executed via network shared drive from client):
=========================================

Servers
~~~~~
License Server Host Status
----------------------- -----------------------------
pc-hylite Active

Clients
~~~~~
Server PC-HYLITE:
172: 1 license , 0 in use; installed May-18-01

Environment
~~~~~~~~~
Host: MADMAX
Network Address: XXX.YYY.5.220 (IP edited)
License server environment variable: ACADSERVER="@PC-HYLITE"
License server service name: ad_elmd
License server port address default: 1422
License server port address: none
Vendor ID: ZZZZZZZ
Hostcode: ZZZZ= 0x600 = ETHER+HISECURE (ZZZ's have been edited)



Here is a sample of the log which gets recorded (ADLM.log)

01-May-21 12:50:44: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:50:54: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:51:04: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:51:14: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:51:24: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Packet from XXX.YYY.5.220 (Remote).
(IP edited out)
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: pc-hylite lastping=990165773 (UP).
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: RECV #47 RQ w.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Keydir set to .
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: No keydir sent with WHERERU packet.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: SEND #47 RP w SAR L 0 TL 0.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: -------------- LISTEN --------------.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Packet from XXX.YYY.5.220 (Remote).
(IP edited)
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: RECV #48 RQ I.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next cleanup.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Process INIT.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: DO_VALIDATE: AOK.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Keydir set to .
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: DO_INIT: pid=1112/XXX.YYY.5.220/5. (IP
edited)
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: NEW_CLIENT finds free CID 1.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [1]: Keydir set to .
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [1]: Connected, pid=1112/XXX.YYY.5.220/5.
01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [1]: SEND #48 RP K.

Any help in sorting this out would be appreciated, thanks.

I've tried moving the license manager from D drive to C drive to no avail
(suggested in a knowledge base article). Another article showed an
intermittent problem with a similar error which said to download a new dll
but was only for win 2000. I've had support helping me so far (for a short
time) to no avail. I've reinstalled several times.

Regards,
Max
*Support\, Autodesk
Message 2 of 8 (165 Views)

Re: Network license FATAL ERROR

05-21-2001 05:41 PM in reply to: *Max
When you first ran the AdLM please ensure you manually launched it from
Control Panel

Try using ACADSERVER with the @ symbol i.e ACADSERVER=@PC-HYLITE
If this fails to work also try increasing the Zombie Timeout period from
Control Panel>AdLM>Settings.

--
Simon Gillis
Analyst
DPG Product Support EMEA
Autodesk WW Support & Services

"Max" wrote in message
news:78987A24DC1269F4B915EED182E867A2@in.WebX.maYIadrTaRb...
> Hello,
>
> We had AutoCad Map 2000 Release 4 installed on a Windows NT 4.0
Workstation
> version using a hardware lock (dongle).
> Now we want to share that license around on several desktops.
>
> We received a single network license code for this machine and installed
> it.
> Adlm is running and says we have 1 license, 0 in use. So far so good.
> The PC is not an NT server, just a PC on a LAN with NT workstation
> installed.
> No autocad service packs are applied.
> The system uses a static IP address and TCP/IP.
> The system dates on all pc's are the same.
> The dongle or hardware lock is no longer on the adlm license server
machine.
> The ACADSERVER variable is set on the license server:
ACADSERVER="PC-HYLITE"
> The server and clients are all on the same LAN, subnet.
>
> We placed an image on the license server PC (called PC-HYLITE) for
> deployment and then from the shared directory installed the client version
> on another PC (called MADMAX) (tried both a client windows NT 4
workstation
> and client Win 2000 workstation actually).
>
> When we start the autocad map 2000 from the client PC's it fails with the
> following error:
>
>
****************************************************************************
> *********
> Fatal Error: Security system ( hardware lock or network license ) is not
> functioning or is improperly installed.
>
****************************************************************************
> *********
>
> The ACADSERVER variable is set on the clients as: ACADSERVER="@PC-HYLITE"
>
> The clients can ping the server by name or IP.
>
> Note that the PC's NetBIOS name or identification is PC-HYLITE (the adlm
> server) and can't be entered in lowercase, even though the PC's TCP/IP DNS
> related name is pc-hylite (lower case). In any case both upper and
lowercase
> names can be pinged from the client.
>
> adlm is installed on D drive (also tried C: to no avail)
>
> =========================================
> Using the License Query tool from a CLIENT
> (installed on server, executed via network shared drive from client):
> =========================================
>
> Servers
> ~~~~~
> License Server Host Status
> ----------------------- -----------------------------
> pc-hylite Active
>
> Clients
> ~~~~~
> Server PC-HYLITE:
> 172: 1 license , 0 in use; installed May-18-01
>
> Environment
> ~~~~~~~~~
> Host: MADMAX
> Network Address: XXX.YYY.5.220 (IP edited)
> License server environment variable: ACADSERVER="@PC-HYLITE"
> License server service name: ad_elmd
> License server port address default: 1422
> License server port address: none
> Vendor ID: ZZZZZZZ
> Hostcode: ZZZZ= 0x600 = ETHER+HISECURE (ZZZ's have been edited)
>
>
>
> Here is a sample of the log which gets recorded (ADLM.log)
>
> 01-May-21 12:50:44: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:50:54: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:51:04: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:51:14: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:51:24: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Packet from XXX.YYY.5.220 (Remote).
> (IP edited out)
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: pc-hylite lastping=990165773 (UP).
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: RECV #47 RQ w.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Keydir set to .
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: No keydir sent with WHERERU packet.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: SEND #47 RP w SAR L 0 TL 0.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: -------------- LISTEN --------------.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Packet from XXX.YYY.5.220 (Remote).
> (IP edited)
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: RECV #48 RQ I.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: bury_zombies: Too soon for next
cleanup.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Process INIT.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: DO_VALIDATE: AOK.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: Keydir set to .
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: DO_INIT: pid=1112/XXX.YYY.5.220/5.
(IP
> edited)
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [0]: NEW_CLIENT finds free CID 1.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [1]: Keydir set to .
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [1]: Connected, pid=1112/XXX.YYY.5.220/5.
> 01-May-21 12:51:33: mxm@MADMAX [1]: SEND #48 RP K.
>
> Any help in sorting this out would be appreciated, thanks.
>
> I've tried moving the license manager from D drive to C drive to no avail
> (suggested in a knowledge base article). Another article showed an
> intermittent problem with a similar error which said to download a new dll
> but was only for win 2000. I've had support helping me so far (for a short
> time) to no avail. I've reinstalled several times.
>
> Regards,
> Max
>
>
>
Member
matzmann
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2001
Message 3 of 8 (165 Views)

Re: Network license FATAL ERROR

05-22-2001 11:38 PM in reply to: *Max
I've got the same problem as Max over here (messages in the log are quite identical).
But using the @keyserver environment variable and increasing the zombie timeout didn't help. What's the point in this licensing (EDITED) anyway. You pay loads of money and then your busy days and days to get it up and running. Thanks and greets
Matthias
*Max
Message 4 of 8 (165 Views)

Re:

05-23-2001 11:45 AM in reply to: *Max
Thankyou for the reply.

 

I already had the @ in fornt of my ACADSERVER
variable on the client as I indicated in my earlier post.

 

The thing about the zombie timeout legth doesn't
make any sense to me. It is set to about 2 minutes. Increasing that time seems
pointless. The message says too early for zombie cleanup meaning increasing the
length will have no effect.

AN my understanding is a zombie is a license which
isn't responding on a client, I don't have a license validating on the client as
ayet.

 

Anyway, support came in and when he found out the
license server was not a WINDOWS NT server he left believing that was the
problem. He has since suggested I try the ACAD variable with the IP address in
the ACADSERVER. He didn't answer whether  NOT being a SERVER was the
problem.

 

In the adlm.log I noticed the following error which
may well be the crux of the problem

 

(The message log has been overwritten so I'll
explain what it said:smileyhappy:

 

It basically said that it was looking for FEATURE
150 on the server and it wasn't found. The license query tool shows that it does
however have feature 172.

 

I'm lead to believe that 150 is AutoCad and 172 is
autocad Map 2000. Confirmation please.

 

So does anyone have any leads on this piece of
information?

 

Regards,

Max


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">

I've got the same problem as Max over here (messages in the log are quite
identical).
But using the @keyserver environment variable and increasing
the zombie timeout didn't help. What's the point in this licensing (EDITED)
anyway. You pay loads of money and then your busy days and days to get it up
and running. Thanks and greets
Matthias
Member
matzmann
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2001
Message 5 of 8 (165 Views)

Re:

05-24-2001 05:10 PM in reply to: *Max
Hi Max,

your perfectly right. The thing about timeout doesn't make any sense at all (and you had the @ already). So how would you rate the quality of the support? :smileyhappy:

I also got it running on a NT4.0 Workstation. Did you reinstall on NT server and did it solve the problem?

As a novice to AutoCAD at first I thought you had to have AutoCAD AND AutoCADMap installed (i.e. Map is just an extension), but my predecessor told me to install only AutoCADMap - that would suffice.

So what?

Feature 172 is Map indeed, and probably 150 is AutoCAD. That would suggest that you have to install both.

Greets
Matthias
*Support\, Autodesk
Message 6 of 8 (165 Views)

Re:

05-24-2001 07:04 PM in reply to: *Max
Ok reading through your postings with a little more
time I see that you did state you already had the @ sign and I apologise for
missing it. At the start of your posting I picked up on the following statement
and jumped in too quick:-

 

...The ACADSERVER variable is set on the
license server: ACADSERVER="PC-HYLITE"....

 

As for increasing the zombie timeout period this is
known to solve some issues similar to this, especially where the network
communications may be poor due to high traffic.

 

 

Discarding all of this you do indeed require both a
feature code for AutoCAD 2000 and a feature code for MAP 4. You should have been
provided with Authorisation to give you a 150 feature key and a 172 feature key.
This licensing method changed with the 2000i based vertical products that only
require the product specific feature and not AutoCAD as well.


--
Simon Gillis
Analyst
DPG Product
Support EMEA
Autodesk WW Support & Services


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
Hi
Max,

your perfectly right. The thing about timeout doesn't make any sense at all
(and you had the @ already). So how would you rate the quality of the support?
:smileyhappy:

I also got it running on a NT4.0 Workstation. Did you reinstall on NT
server and did it solve the problem?

As a novice to AutoCAD at first I thought you had to have AutoCAD AND
AutoCADMap installed (i.e. Map is just an extension), but my predecessor told
me to install only AutoCADMap - that would suffice.

So what?

Feature 172 is Map indeed, and probably 150 is AutoCAD. That would suggest
that you have to install both.

Greets
Matthias

Member
matzmann
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-24-2001
Message 7 of 8 (165 Views)

Re:

05-24-2001 09:22 PM in reply to: *Max
Yes! That's it!
Finally we got it running.
Thanks to AutoDesk support this time.

Greets
Matthias
*Max
Message 8 of 8 (165 Views)

Network license FATAL ERROR - resolved

05-27-2001 10:13 AM in reply to: *Max
Thank you Simon

 

 If only the support who gave us the license
had indicated both authorisations were required we would have saved 3 weeks of
turmoil.

 

 Local support also never asked if we had
installed both authorisations when attempting to resolve the issue.

 

Regards and many thanks,

 

Max


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">

Ok reading through your postings with a little
more time I see that you did state you already had the @ sign and I apologise
for missing it. At the start of your posting I picked up on the following
statement and jumped in too quick:-

 

...The ACADSERVER variable is set on the
license server: ACADSERVER="PC-HYLITE"....

 

As for increasing the zombie timeout period this
is known to solve some issues similar to this, especially where the network
communications may be poor due to high traffic.

 

 

Discarding all of this you do indeed require both
a feature code for AutoCAD 2000 and a feature code for MAP 4. You should have
been provided with Authorisation to give you a 150 feature key and a 172
feature key. This licensing method changed with the 2000i based vertical
products that only require the product specific feature and not AutoCAD as
well.


--
Simon Gillis
Analyst
DPG Product
Support EMEA
Autodesk WW Support & Services


style="BORDER-LEFT: #000000 2px solid; MARGIN-LEFT: 5px; MARGIN-RIGHT: 0px; PADDING-LEFT: 5px; PADDING-RIGHT: 0px">
Hi
Max,

your perfectly right. The thing about timeout doesn't make any sense at
all (and you had the @ already). So how would you rate the quality of the
support? :smileyhappy:

I also got it running on a NT4.0 Workstation. Did you reinstall on NT
server and did it solve the problem?

As a novice to AutoCAD at first I thought you had to have AutoCAD AND
AutoCADMap installed (i.e. Map is just an extension), but my predecessor
told me to install only AutoCADMap - that would suffice.

So what?

Feature 172 is Map indeed, and probably 150 is AutoCAD. That would
suggest that you have to install both.

Greets
Matthias

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube