Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
jeromefc
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 1 of 6 (1,977 Views)
Accepted Solution

Network License [Error [-96.491.0]

1977 Views, 5 Replies
06-06-2011 03:22 AM
Error [-96.491.0] A valid license could not be obtained by network license manager Some of the suggestions that I did; 1. Renamed Cascadeinfo.cas (http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Licensing-Error-96-491-0/td-p/2699439) it didn't work. 2. Performed System variable settings (Go to: Start > Settings > Control Panel > System > Advanced > Environment Variables) eg. ADSKFLEX_LICENSE_FILE @servername 3. Disabled firewall (made an exclusion for ports 2080 and 27000~27009 ). In the end, I enabled firewall by default. 4. Modification of Hosts from the client located at C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc added the IP Address and Server name. (http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Invalid-License-for-Civil-3D-2010/td-p/2716215) These were the things that I’ve done. If you know any other solution(s). I would really appreciate it. Thanks, Jerome
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,159
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 6 (1,971 Views)

Re: Network License [Error [-96.491.0]

06-06-2011 06:01 AM in reply to: jeromefc

a -96 error messages means: License server machine is down or not responding.

you may want to look at the license server side to see if its actually running

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 6 (1,959 Views)

Re: Network License [Error [-96.491.0]

06-06-2011 09:33 AM in reply to: DarrenP

Yep, Darren is right.  I have been seeing this more lately on Server 2008 R2 where the adskflex.exe starts then stops but the lmgrd.exe service keeps running.  In most cases it turns out to be firewall and IPv6 related. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
jeromefc
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎06-12-2008
Message 4 of 6 (1,899 Views)

Re: Network License [Error [-96.491.0]

06-20-2011 01:43 AM in reply to: jeromefc

Thanks a lot for the help. This is solved.

Valued Contributor
phil-mcam
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 5 of 6 (1,570 Views)

Re: Network License [Error [-96.491.0]

12-14-2011 04:00 PM in reply to: jeromefc

I'm sorry, but I cannot see in this post what the solution is. For those of us unfamiliar with IPV4 vs IPV6 issues, could someone please elaborate?

 

I am getting this same type of error. Mine is Error [-96.7.2] and I can't get a license.

 

My license server is up and running, providing licenses to all who ask except this one machine. LM TOOLS reports having a license available for the software requesting it.

 

Machines that can pull licenses: Win7 64 brand new Dell laptop, and also older Vista 32bit HP laptops. No problem.

 

Machine not able to get license: brand new Macbook Pro. AutoCAD for Mac installed trying to pull a license for it. This machine is positively connected to the license server.

 

License server: XP Pro 2002, SP3

 

Any suggestions? And thanks for your time and consideration.

 

-Phil

Valued Contributor
phil-mcam
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-19-2011
Message 6 of 6 (1,514 Views)

Re: Network License [Error [-96.491.0]

12-20-2011 09:30 AM in reply to: phil-mcam

Okay, I figured it out with a little help from Autodesk Tech support. So in the interest of anyone who can find this in a search string, here's the fix, in enumerated steps, very clear and specific, hopefully of actual use to someone in the future. 

 

Mac unable to get license from server

1. We remove the Flexnet folder from the below location. These files can become corrupt and are automatically re-generated so can be removed for basic license issues / troubleshooting
/Library/Preferences/FLEXnet Publisher/FLEXnet/adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data
/Library/Preferences/FLEXnet Publisher/FLEXnet/adskflex_00691b00_tsf.data.backup
 

2. We could not connect to the server via Hostname so we used the IP address instead. 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube