Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
stephen.oakden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 1 of 7 (231 Views)
Accepted Solution

Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

231 Views, 6 Replies
10-09-2013 02:58 AM

Hi

 

I am trying to set up the Network Licence Manager on a remote server so that users can log into it from multiple locations.  The basic idea is that Autodesk software will be installed and run on the local machine, however, it will obtain its licence by looking to a remote server.

 

I have checked the IP address of the server and it is visible and I am advised that the necessary ports have been opened.  When I  try to run the software Flexnet Licence Finder completes in what appears to be a satisfactory way - This is using the IP address as the server name.  However the software returns an error -15.570.0 - "A valid licence could not be obtained by the network licence manager".

 

The only anomally I can think of is that when the licences manager file was provided by AutoDesk it had the server name rather than the IP address in its information.

 

Does any one have any ideas.

Product Support
Yannick.Karawa
Posts: 17
Registered: ‎01-15-2013
Message 2 of 7 (217 Views)

Re: Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

10-09-2013 05:24 AM in reply to: stephen.oakden

Hi Stephen,

 

Sorry to hear that you encounter issue reaching your license server.

 

Please refer yourself to the following technical documentation in our Autodesk Knowledge database in order to resolve the issue:

 

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=5913679&linkID=9240617

 

Please let us know if it enables you to solve the issue.

 

Thanks



Yannick Karawa
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,158
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 3 of 7 (209 Views)

Re: Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

10-09-2013 06:03 AM in reply to: Yannick.Karawa

this could also be caused by IPv6

does your server have IPv6 enabled?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 4 of 7 (198 Views)

Re: Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

10-09-2013 10:15 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I agree with Darren.  These days -15 is more associated with an IPv6 issue.  Make sure your NLM is running and licenses are showing available.  Then see the IPv6 fix provided.

 

For more information about Network License Manager connectivity issues and IPv6, please see my discussion post here:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Network-License-Error-1-5-15-and-IPv6/td-p/2982...

 

Definitely update us.

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
stephen.oakden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 5 of 7 (189 Views)

Re: Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

10-09-2013 12:31 PM in reply to: stephen.oakden

Guys

 

Many thanks for your responses.

 

Yannick - Will carry out the tests suggested in the article you sent to me and will let you know how we get on.

 

Darren & Travis  Your point on IP v6 is noted.  Unfortunately the server is runnin IP v4.  I am checking to make sure the correct version of licence manager is running.

 

I will update you all tomorrow on how we get on.

 

Many thanks

 

Stephen

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 7 (184 Views)

Re: Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

10-09-2013 01:52 PM in reply to: stephen.oakden
Sounds good. You'll want to verify with PING on that server hostname that
the response is still IPv4. I have seen stranger things...
Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
stephen.oakden
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-09-2013
Message 7 of 7 (160 Views)

Re: Network Licence Manager Remote Installation

10-14-2013 04:31 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Just to let you all know that following a review of the Ports and and making a few tweaks to the environmental varialbles and a host file it all seems to be working fine.

 

Many thanks for your input.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube