Installation & Licensing

Reply
Contributor
kpod
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 1 of 6 (188 Views)
Accepted Solution

Monitor blinking when Autocad starts

188 Views, 5 Replies
03-27-2014 08:22 AM

We are experiencing several workstations that have a video issue that causes the monitors to blink when opening Autocad.  This also occurs when trying to print to our Oce.  This may be related to a video driver update since the problem occurred on one workstation after an Nvidia update, but not  on another.  This does not occur when opening Revit.

We have reinstalled chipset and nvidia drivers to no avail. 

Has anyone else experienced this?

Lenovo w520 and w530  w/ Quadro 1000m + 16gb ram.

 

 

Log from a user experiencing this issue:

 

 

I noted every time the monitors flashed yesterday.  Here’s what happened:

 

  1. Opened CAD by selecting drawing file in Windows Explorer. 
    1. All three monitors (two desktop and latop) flashed. 
    2. Once CAD is open, opening new drawing file in Windows Explorer DOES NOT cause flashing.
    3. Opened CAD by selecting program button on desktop.
      1. All three monitors (two desktop and latop) flashed. 
      2. Printed multiple sheets to structural printer from Revit.
        1. All three monitors (two desktop and latop) flashed.  

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,996
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 2 of 6 (179 Views)

Re: Monitor blinking when Autocad starts

03-27-2014 09:11 AM in reply to: kpod

If you have an onboard video and then also a secondary real graphics card, it might be switching.  You can either set your AutoCAD to always use the real video or always have Windows use the real video card in general.  See my Optimus link about this, it might have some insight.

 

Also, definitely check nvidia.com for the latest WHQL drivers. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
kpod
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 3 of 6 (170 Views)

Re: Monitor blinking when Autocad starts

03-27-2014 10:07 AM in reply to: TravisNave
We have done both.
Contributor
kpod
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 4 of 6 (169 Views)

Re: Monitor blinking when Autocad starts

03-27-2014 10:10 AM in reply to: TravisNave
I will review you Optimus link, where is it?
*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,996
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 6 (166 Views)

Re: Monitor blinking when Autocad starts

03-27-2014 10:27 AM in reply to: kpod

Sorry, it is in my signature.  Here is the link.

 

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Hardware/Disabling-nVidia-Optimus-amp-Perform-Clean-Install/td-p/43632...

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
kpod
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎09-07-2011
Message 6 of 6 (146 Views)

Re: Monitor blinking when Autocad starts

03-27-2014 12:12 PM in reply to: TravisNave
Thank you for the great info. We solved the problem.

We typically use a current Nvidia driver with great success until now. We installed the latest Lenovo supplied Nvidia Quadro driver and that fixed the issue.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube