Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Maya student version plugin development

7 REPLIES 7
Message 1 of 8
jordonph
801 Views, 7 Replies

Maya student version plugin development

Hi, I am a student and I am interested in a future career as a production engineer or TD in the film/animation industry and was hoping to learn about Maya plugin development using the Maya student edition.

Is this a valid use?  Also is the copyright the same as with video content developed with the student version?

Can I offer plugins I make for free on a website?

If I later buy a commercial version of Maya, will I still be limited to non-commercial distribution of my plugins?

If I get an industry job, would I be able to use the plugins I developed with the student version or would I have to remake them?

Thanks!

Tags (3)
7 REPLIES 7
Message 2 of 8
jessica.t
in reply to: jordonph

Hi @jordonph and welcome to the Autodesk Community!

All software licenses obtained from the Education Community are for learning purposes only. Anything created using an educational license cannot be used in any for-profit projects the time of use or in any future state.

Please see our Terms of Use for further details. Thank you!

Jessica Thrasher
Message 3 of 8
jordonph
in reply to: jessica.t

Hi Jessica, can you confirm that this includes plugins too? Technically, plugins are not created with Maya at all, but use the Maya API, wouldn't the code I write still belong to me?

Message 4 of 8
jessica.t
in reply to: jordonph

Anything associated to the free educational license cannot be used for commercial purposes or profit, it is for learning purposes only. Please use your best judgement. Thank you!

Jessica Thrasher
Message 5 of 8
focus-gfx
in reply to: jessica.t