Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
timo.gundacker
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-01-2012
Message 1 of 5 (1,831 Views)

Maya on Lion

1831 Views, 4 Replies
03-01-2012 07:32 AM

Hello Autodesk Team, I wanted to install Maya on OS 10.7 Lion, but actually it tells me that the installation failed. When will there be a compatible versin available?

 

Customer Service
bielskj
Posts: 76
Registered: ‎02-29-2012
Message 2 of 5 (1,821 Views)

Re: Maya on Lion

03-01-2012 12:19 PM in reply to: timo.gundacker

Hi timo.gundacker,

 

As of now, there is no update on when Maya is going to be supported to run on Max OS 10.7.  Autodesk and Apple are still working on a solution to this problem.  Please visit The Area discussion forums for future updates.  You can also check the Maya Updates and Service Pack page .

 

If this answers your question, please accept this as a soluiton, so that other can benefit from this answer.

 



Lucio.Bielski
Front Desk Representative

Autodesk, Inc.

New Member
dom_film
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2012
Message 3 of 5 (1,749 Views)

Re: Maya on Lion

03-24-2012 02:48 PM in reply to: timo.gundacker

I am utterly STAGGERED to learn that more than nine months after this was first posted (and heaven only knows how long before that when the software was under development) that *STILL* Maya does not work with Lion.

 

Staggered. There are too many apps that need Lion to run, I HAVE to move with the times - even if Autodesk can't

 

All I can say is thank goodness I was donated my copy , and have only wasted 4 months waiting for it, instead of £3000 paying for it.

 

Any multi-million dollar company that has taken almost a year to (not) manage to get its software working on a major creative/production operating system like OSX has some serious organisational questions to ask itself. Period.

New Member
whynoliononmaya
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2012
Message 4 of 5 (1,709 Views)

Re: Maya on Lion

04-01-2012 06:37 AM in reply to: timo.gundacker
I agree. I watched the Autodesk 2013 webinars last week with them preaching that they listen to users and want to make their lives easier, how can they not have a patch ready yet for Lion OSX? It's nearly 2 years after the operating system was first announced. I noticed that Maya 2013 is Lion OSX ready - why can't they use that patch for Maya 2012? Perhaps they're hoping that us Apple mugs will waste the money we paid for Maya 2012 and fork out a load more cash on an upgrade so we can use it on our Lion based Macs. Think it might be time to take advantage of the Cinema 4D competitive sidegrade.
Member
ianim8
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎08-10-2006
Message 5 of 5 (1,554 Views)

Re: Maya on Lion

04-21-2012 09:04 AM in reply to: whynoliononmaya

Folks back in the day (and even today), you would have to run software on the software for years even during upgrades.

Avid was notorious for that. Of late they have been up to date with Lion.

 

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube