Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
RynoFXR
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2013
Message 1 of 5 (292 Views)
Accepted Solution

Maya home use license invalid

292 Views, 4 Replies
07-11-2013 01:32 PM

Greetings,

 

I am a contractor and I use Maya 2012 and 13 at work.  I have been working from home recently and bought a new computer to work and train on at home.  I downloaded and installed Maya 2014, but accidentally installed a trial version.  I tried to use the License Transfer Utility to update to a serial/product number they sent me from work.  It says that my license is not valid.

 

Would I need to use a previous version of Maya?  Either 2012 or 2013?  I thought a license/key was good for the most recent version and up to 3 previous versions?

 

Any help is appreciated!

 

-R

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,401
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 5 (278 Views)

Re: Maya home use license invalid

07-11-2013 03:26 PM in reply to: RynoFXR

Hi Ryan!

 

A license that is attached to a subscription contract would enable the previous version benefit, allowing one to use the current release + the 3 prior.

 

With a standalone license, the serial number will change with each new release and must match up with the software version that is being installed. The only instance where this would not be the case is with networked licenses, as a package license file would be utilized containing all 4 (current + the 3 prior) releases.

 

Can you please either send me a Private Message (click on my philip.s profile name and then "Send this user a private message") with your serial number or contact our License Assistance Team for validation?



Philip Schmelzer
Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,401
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 3 of 5 (265 Views)

Re: Maya home use license invalid

07-12-2013 09:42 AM in reply to: philip.s

Thanks for the PM info Ryan!

 

In your case the 2014 serial number is correct, however there is no need for you to import the license it's not being transferred from one machine to another. Simply start the trial software, at which point you should have the option to run as a trial or activate. Select activate, follow the prompts and you should be good to go!

 

Here to help if additional clarification is needed, otherwise please accept as a solution so that others can benefit from this information.



Philip Schmelzer
New Member
RynoFXR
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎07-11-2013
Message 4 of 5 (260 Views)

Re: Maya home use license invalid

07-12-2013 12:40 PM in reply to: RynoFXR

Hey Philip!  Got it working this morning.  Instead of using the License utility I did what you said, put in my info and it was good to go.  Thanks for the help.  Not sure why it was trying to import the license, but after going through the trial version screen, it worked fine.

 

Thanks again!

-Ryan

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,401
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 5 of 5 (251 Views)

Re: Maya home use license invalid

07-12-2013 02:33 PM in reply to: RynoFXR

Glad to hear and you're very welcome!

 

Please don't hesitate to let us know if anything else comes up :smileyhappy:



Philip Schmelzer

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube