Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
itsraining_ben
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 1 of 11 (1,343 Views)

Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

1343 Views, 10 Replies
01-09-2012 06:01 PM

Get an interesting response when I restart our license server in terminal:

 

"(lmgrd) The license server manager (lmgrd) is already serving all vendors, exiting."

 

Anyone have any idea what this is caused by? Mac environment, previously serving just fine until we did a software update (airport utility) and restarted. At a loss as how to fix.

 

Thanks for your time,

Ben

Alumni
INACTIVE_Timmy.DeAustria
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎10-04-2011
Message 2 of 11 (1,328 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-09-2012 08:49 PM in reply to: itsraining_ben
Try stopping the service and check if there are other lmgrd or adskflex process running. I would recommend for you to reconfigure your adskflex service from scratch. Hope this helps...


Timmy De Austria
Product Support | Up and Ready Blog | If my reply was helpful, please Kudo or Accept as Solution. :smileywink:
Member
itsraining_ben
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 3 of 11 (1,324 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-09-2012 09:13 PM in reply to: INACTIVE_Timmy.DeAustria

Thanks so much for your resposne Timmy. I hadn't stopped the service through terminal but I had killed any lmgrd / adskflex processes that were running in the background, the only other lmgrd process that was running was our nuke license server. Is there a terminal command to stop the service completely without quitting the running software through activity monitor?

 

Can you elaborate on how to reconfigure the adskflex service from scratch? 

 

Thanks again for your help Timmy.

 

Ben

Alumni
INACTIVE_Timmy.DeAustria
Posts: 72
Registered: ‎10-04-2011
Message 4 of 11 (1,322 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-09-2012 09:46 PM in reply to: itsraining_ben
You might want to check out this post together with its links... http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/11/general-licensing-network-licensing-manager-on-th... http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Installing-Maya-2011-2012-with-a-Network-licens...


Timmy De Austria
Product Support | Up and Ready Blog | If my reply was helpful, please Kudo or Accept as Solution. :smileywink:
Member
itsraining_ben
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 5 of 11 (1,321 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-09-2012 10:15 PM in reply to: INACTIVE_Timmy.DeAustria

I had gone through those step-by-steps but still didn't work for me. We had this server up and running until we had to restart it, if there isn't any known issue with that error message I'll have to work on re-creating the license server from scratch. Shouldn't be too tough, just some downtime for the artists I suppose.

 

Update tomorrrow with my results, thanks again Timmy. 

 

Ben

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,004
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 6 of 11 (1,312 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-10-2012 07:49 AM in reply to: itsraining_ben

For a Quick-Start Guide on configuring the Autodesk License Manager, please see my post for further information:

http://forums.autodesk.com/t5/Installation-Licensing/Quick-Start-Guide-for-Configuring-LMTOOLS/m-p/3...

 

If you have more than one vendor running LMGRD, then you can combine them to run together.  See my combining license files in my signature below for instructions.

 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
itsraining_ben
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 7 of 11 (1,306 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-10-2012 08:52 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Thanks for the response Travis. I hadn't thought of it before but we do have have C4D license server running on the same box, lmgrd.foundry is the process name. Is that a possible conflict? Currently Maya 2012 is our only license server running from Autodesk and it looks like that's what your comining licenses walk through is for. 

 

Also of note, license server and boxes pulling licenses are running mac enviornments. Your Quick-Start Guide was for PC so wanted to bring it to your attention.

 

Thanks again Travis.

 

Ben

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,004
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 8 of 11 (1,302 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-10-2012 08:58 AM in reply to: itsraining_ben

The process should be similar for the Mac.  Simply set it up like you would on a Mac.  Use the latest lmgrd and place the vendor files for each product in the same location and configure them as appropriately.  If the license files are compatible, consider combining those and running one single file. 

 

Unfortunately I do not have a quickstart guide for Mac or Linux yet.  Perhaps in the future.  Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Member
itsraining_ben
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎01-09-2012
Message 9 of 11 (1,295 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-10-2012 10:27 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Solved - I had installed Foundry's Nuke license server on the box earlier in the day, much earlier so it wasn't a thought initallly when we began having problems. It wasn't actually serving licenses, just a preemptive installation for our future purchase. 

 

Uninstalling Foundry's license server using their utility, restarting the box then restarting the license server in terminal did the trick. That line is below.

 

Thanks all for your help, hopefully this helps for anyone else that comes across it.

 

Ben

 

cd /usr/local/flexnetserver

<enter>

sudo ./lmgrd -c /var/flexlm/adsk_server.lic

<enter>

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 10,004
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 10 of 11 (1,291 Views)

Re: Maya 2012 Network License - lmgrd already serving all vendors

01-10-2012 10:34 AM in reply to: itsraining_ben

Thanks for the follow-up and showing that the existence of another license manager does in fact cause license behavior issues. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube