Installation & Licensing

Reply
Member
Stianbl2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 1 of 5 (235 Views)

Max 2012 floating license - Problems using network Teaming..!

235 Views, 4 Replies
10-24-2011 06:15 AM

Hi guys,

I've just set up network teaming using load balancing, but now I seeme to have a problem with our floating license. It used to work, but now I cant connect to the licence file from my workstation. The service starts and are running smooth on the server, but it seemes that there might be a problem with teaming. one Ip with two MAC adresses. Are there any ways to fix this?

 

Thanks in advance =)

Member
Stianbl2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 2 of 5 (229 Views)

Re: Max 2012 floating license - Problems using network Teaming..!

10-24-2011 06:36 AM in reply to: Stianbl2

Seems like I've figured it out =)

 

If anyone else should get this problem when teaming, this is the solution:

 

Rightclick the new network connection generated after teaming.
Click properties.
Click configure.
Go to Advanced.
Scroll down to Locally Administered Address.
Enter the previously used MAC adress here and hit OK.

 

(otherwise the team will get a new mac adress, which doesnt match the one from your previously used network card.)

Product Support
avto
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 3 of 5 (217 Views)

Re: Max 2012 floating license - Problems using network Teaming..!

10-24-2011 03:07 PM in reply to: Stianbl2

Thank you for sharing your workaround to our community.

 



Avto Chachava
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.
Member
Stianbl2
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-24-2011
Message 4 of 5 (205 Views)

Re: Max 2012 floating license - Problems using network Teaming..!

10-25-2011 12:09 AM in reply to: Stianbl2

No problem =)

Got anothe problem now, which made me turn NIC Teaming of again.

 

Our Backburner Manager is located on the server which I enabled Teaming, and it seemes like there might be an error with this too.. Didn't figure out how to fix this, and I read somewhere that the manager is not supporting nic teaming.

 

Are there any ways around? Or do I simply have to move the manager to another server?

 

Thanks =)

Product Support
avto
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎10-07-2008
Message 5 of 5 (195 Views)

Re: Max 2012 floating license - Problems using network Teaming..!

10-25-2011 09:07 AM in reply to: Stianbl2

I am not expert in the rendering and have not worked with Backburner, but can point you to the following post on http://area.autodesk.com/ forum that could shed some light on your problem.

 

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/maxstation/n37_at_any_given_time_only_one_of_your_backburner_servers_...



Avto Chachava
Autodesk Product Support
Autodesk, Inc.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube