Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
aidasalminas
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎10-04-2011
Message 1 of 11 (497 Views)

License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

497 Views, 10 Replies
10-04-2011 04:13 AM

Hi eweryone,

we have 2 network licenses of AutoCAD Civil 3D 2012. There are users witch uses 32bit and 64bit OS, cal i place deploy for both type of OS on same machine ?

 

Thanks

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 2 of 11 (489 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

10-05-2011 06:21 AM in reply to: aidasalminas

no you can't

its 64 bit for the 64 bit OS

32 bit for the 32 bit OS

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 11 (474 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

10-05-2011 02:38 PM in reply to: aidasalminas

Darren is right.  You cannot install a 32-bit version on a 64-bit machine.  However, you can create just the deployment installation files and keep both installations on your single server.  But you will have to deploy to the correct machines. 

 

The license manager itself doesn't care which version is run as the license is platform independent. 

 

Good Luck!

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Active Member
asquillacioti
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎09-16-2011
Message 4 of 11 (449 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

10-12-2011 01:04 PM in reply to: TravisNave

Can you explain to me how you load deployment installation files?

 

I am using Windows 7 64bit with Autocad 2012 32bit.

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 5 of 11 (444 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

10-12-2011 01:51 PM in reply to: asquillacioti

You cannot deploy 32-bit AutoCAD to a 64-bit workstation.  You will need to deploy the 64-bit installer. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
Contributor
oknamo
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-16-2004
Message 6 of 11 (330 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

04-02-2012 10:24 AM in reply to: TravisNave

Is Civil 3D network license for 32 bit different from 64 bit. We have a windows 2003 license server for Autocad civil 3D and we have Civl 3D 32bit software on several windows xp workstations, however some of us are getting windows 7 64bit OS with civil 3D 64 bit software installed. Do we need to have an another license server for this software to work?

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,930
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 7 of 11 (326 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

04-02-2012 10:33 AM in reply to: oknamo

No.  The CPU architecture is irrelevant to licensing.  You're probably experiencing a different network error. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave
*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 8 of 11 (322 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

04-02-2012 10:55 AM in reply to: TravisNave

autodesk doesn't sell their products that way

you should be fine with the license file that you currently have

*Expert Elite*
DarrenP
Posts: 7,156
Registered: ‎09-13-2007
Message 9 of 11 (321 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

04-02-2012 10:56 AM in reply to: DarrenP

what error are you getting?

Contributor
oknamo
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎12-16-2004
Message 10 of 11 (298 Views)

Re: License server 32bit and 64bit on same machine

04-03-2012 07:59 AM in reply to: DarrenP

I was asked by the IT people If we need another license server. By opinons I gathered in this group we don't need to do anything but to install the software and make the connection with our existing license server.

 

Thanks everyone.

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube