Installation & Licensing

sebastian.pietta
Message 1 of 2 (4,976 Views)
Accepted Solution

License failed to initiate ERROR 30; 3ds Max 2012

4976 Views, 1 Replies
10-13-2011 07:41 AM

Hi,

I'm confronted with one or two problems.

First: I'm a student and got a license from Autodesk for 3ds Max 2012. I installed the German version but I realized, that it's much more better to work with the English version. So I downloaded that version and installed it.

So far so good. When I opened the program a window appeared and said: "Error splas.dll". I ignored it a few days. Today I read that it might have an conflict with the German version. I uninstalled the German version and after that NOTHING worked. I uninstalled everything I found and deleted everything in the Temp-folder etc...I tried to reinstall the English version...but it said that it is already installed.

So I reseated my system to the point before uninstalling the German version. NOW when I try to open 3ds Max there appears another error "The software license failed to initialize. Error 30". I exported and reimported my student-license but it didn't solve the problem.

Guys...what can I do? Did I make a huge mistake or how can I fix it?

Thank you so far!

Sebastian

Product Support
david.lau
Message 2 of 2 (4,961 Views)

Re: License failed to initiate ERROR 30; 3ds Max 2012

10-13-2011 12:15 PM in reply to: sebastian.pietta

Can you check out this post:

http://area.autodesk.com/blogs/shane/licensing_and_install_problems

If not, the uninstall and reinstall the software and check if the following registry keys exist and delete them.

NOTE: Backup your registry keys (Folders) before deleting them.

http://upandready.typepad.com/up_and_ready/2011/07/general-installation-cannot-uninstall-andor-reins...

David Lau
Announcements