Installation & Licensing

Reply
Active Member
MehtaMJ
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Message 1 of 5 (172 Views)

License Transfer Utility questions.

172 Views, 4 Replies
01-29-2013 11:35 AM

Hello

I want to transfer my Autodesk Moldflow performance (2011) license to new computer. I understand with LTU, I can transfer license. However in Autodesk folder LTU software is not available. My soft Serial number is xxx-xxxxxxxx

Also MPA software is corrupt, can Autodesk send me Moldflow performance software CD.

I will appreciate Help.

Thanks

Mukund Mehta

NYX, Inc.

36111 Schoolcraft Road

Livonia, MI. 48150

Tel: (734) 462-2385 X 292

e-mail: mmehta@nyxinc.com

 

 

Edited by
Discussion_Admin

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,374
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 2 of 5 (153 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility questions.

01-29-2013 03:00 PM in reply to: MehtaMJ

Hello Mukund!

 

You're post was edited to remove the serial number. As a general rule please refrain from posting sensitive / licensing information in the public.

 

The LTU is compatible with standalone licenses, and would not show up in your Simulation Moldflow Insight directory as the license is running / hosted on a network.

In regards to your media inquiry, please fill out the following Media / Download Request form.



Philip Schmelzer
Active Member
MehtaMJ
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Message 3 of 5 (132 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility questions.

01-30-2013 08:01 AM in reply to: philip.s

This license is single user license and not a network. My issue is to transfer existing license to new computer.

How to implement help will be appreciated

Thanks

 

 

Community Manager
philip.s
Posts: 2,374
Registered: ‎09-27-2011
Message 4 of 5 (120 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility questions.

01-30-2013 01:22 PM in reply to: MehtaMJ

Hi Mukund,

 

Confirming that your license is a single seat, however it's setup as an ASP deployment (typically used with Citrix) which uses a license file and not as a standalone.

With that being said, I'd recommend contacting our License Assistance team if you need a new license file generated.



Philip Schmelzer
Active Member
MehtaMJ
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎08-27-2009
Message 5 of 5 (118 Views)

Re: License Transfer Utility questions.

01-30-2013 01:28 PM in reply to: philip.s
Hi! Thanks ! got new license is working fine. Thanks Once again Mukund Mehta "CONFIDENTIALITY NOTICE: This e-mail message, including any attachments, is for the sole use of the intended recipient(s) and may contain confidential and privileged information. Any unauthorized review, use, disclosure or distribution is prohibited. If you are not the intended recipient, please contact the sender by reply e-mail and destroy all copies of the original message."

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube