Installation & Licensing
Welcome to Autodesk’s Installation and Licensing Forums. Share your knowledge, ask questions, and explore popular Download, Installation, and Licensing topics.
cancel
Showing results for 
Show  only  | Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Message 1 of 5
grubat
336 Views, 4 Replies

LIcensiing nightmare

I am a technician with over 20 years supporting desktop and server platforms.  I am a new employee to Enbridge Energy.  My sphere of influence includes about 50 different AutoDesk licenses most of which are in disarray.  My vendor has been CDW, but I am looking at other options.  Recently I asked for a quote for a renewal of subscriptions for about 24 products. The quote was sent to another person in our corporation.  By the time I tracked it down the 45 day grace period was up, and I was hit with $2800 in fees for a lapsed subscription.  The problem was that the tech I replaced had registered the software to his e-mail address.  Since he is gone, we had no notification that the subscription was expiring.  I have since implemented a generic e-mail account for all our techs to use when registering software. However it seems very wrong that I cannot get in contact with a person at Autodesk to talk to about this.  Autodesk is the worst company I have dealt with for licensing complexities and difficulty in renewal. If there were a better product I would force a change.  I don’t have a clear understanding of what they want!  It is more difficult to understand their licensing than any other company I have done business with.  Their tracking is hit and miss.  For instance, I can be upgrading a machine to a new version, so I look at the serial number on the users computer, call my vendor and give them that serial number.  They have to call and check the serial number and then come back with a quote.  I place an order with their quote, and receive the software.  I go to install the upgrade and when I get to activation it fails.  I call Autodesk and they