Installation & Licensing

Reply
New Member
coup27
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
Message 1 of 3 (465 Views)

Is multi seat stand alone an option for AutoCAD + Electrical 2012 in UK

465 Views, 2 Replies
07-27-2011 01:48 AM

Hi,

 

We currently have 1 stand alone licence of AutoCAD Electrical 2011 with support for updates installed on one machine.  We would like the facility for when our CAD man is off sick, somebody else can use the licence on their machine without having to move to the other end of the building to sit at his desk.

 

The multi seat stand alone licence sounds perfect for what we are trying to achieve but i cannot confirm if this is an option on our package.

 

I know we could use a network licence but that would cost an additional £1300 to upgrade to that, plus we don't have a server right now to manage it.

 

I did read about second installation rights on another machine as long as it wasn't in use the same time as the first installation but could not confirm if this was only in a non commercial environment such as the cad mans house.

 

Thanks.

Distinguished Contributor
Dazzman
Posts: 148
Registered: ‎06-27-2006
Message 2 of 3 (459 Views)

Re: Is multi seat stand alone an option for AutoCAD + Electrical 2012 in UK

07-27-2011 08:54 AM in reply to: coup27

I think that the multiple seat option is for 1 serial number that covers all the purchased licenses so to be legal you would be required to purchase another copy.

 

In the past we used to dual license the product so that the user could use it out of the office on a laptop and also on a PC when in the office but you are only allowed to use either not both at the same time.

 

You can setup a workstation to run the network license without a server as long as its networked you should be able to use the product on other systems.

 

 

 

*Expert Elite*
TravisNave
Posts: 9,936
Registered: ‎01-14-2005
Message 3 of 3 (442 Views)

Re: Is multi seat stand alone an option for AutoCAD + Electrical 2012 in UK

07-28-2011 08:43 AM in reply to: Dazzman

Right, I'd pay the network activation cost for the one seat.  It's only a one time fee and it will allow you to install the software on a maximum number of PCs, while only allowing one to run at a time.  If there is no need for you to spend the money on a second seat (multi-seat) then just pay the network activation fee. 

Travis Nave Send TravisNave a Private Message                       Need help in your post? Mention me with @TravisNave

You are not logged in.

Log into access your profile, ask and answer questions, share ideas and more. Haven't signed up yet? Register

Announcements
Are you familiar with the Autodesk Expert Elites? The Expert Elite program is made up of customers that help other customers by sharing knowledge and exemplifying an engaging style of collaboration. To learn more, please visit our Expert Elite website.

Need installation help?

Start with some of our most frequented solutions to get help installing your software.

Ask the Community


Up & Ready Blog

Boldly Install, Configure and Deploy Autodesk Software.

AutodeskHelp Blog

Your one-stop shop for the latest solutions, breaking news, and behind the scenes access to the world of Autodesk support.

Connect with Us

Twitter

Pinterest

Blog

Youtube